CSA, Week 6

Today’s bounty:

CSA Week 6

Carrots (yay!), Yukon Gold potatos (yay!), cucumbers (yay!), and kale (woe). I am, sad to say, not a big fan of kale, other than in soups. But I’ll give it a go anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to CSA, Week 6

  1. Cookie says:

    Yay!

    I think Crazy Aunt Purl has uses kale in her mashed potatoes. Might be an idea. Maybe?

  2. Chris says:

    You could work on the kale and then write a cookbook: Kale Recipes for People Who Hate Kale.

  3. Lauren says:

    How about mac and cheese with kale? Kale quesadillas? You could always try a kale smoothie 😉

  4. Carrie K says:

    I had a kale and bacon salad from Whole Foods the other day that was really tasty. Possibly because I added about the same volume of tomatos from the garden into it.

    Kale quesadillas? The mind boggles.

  5. Katheirne says:

    I make swiss chard quesadillas all the time — just sautee the green with the usual suspects, carrots, onion, that sort of thing. Then add a (very) generous splash of bourbon and put the lid on until the greens wilt to a satisfactory degree. Mmm. The original recipe called for tequila, but I never seem to have that on hand. I think it would be smashing with kale, frankly. I think I’d start the kale cooking earlier, though.

  6. Paula B says:

    try this recipe for Kale Crisps: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Baked-Kale-Chips/Detail.aspx
    And let us all know how they are!

  7. I know what you mean about kale. I always think I should like it as it’s healthy as anything, but really I understand why they use it to decorate salad bars.

  8. Miss T says:

    I would be cheering the kale and booing the carrots. :o)

Leave a Reply

