FO: Nell

Darling Nell is done, and I’m so happy with how she turned out that it almost makes me want cooler weather. Almost.
Nell

For having pretty much no clue how the sizing was going to come out, it’s amazing how good the fit turned out to be.

Nell

She’s deserving of a better photo shoot, but I’m lucky I can get DH to take even a couple of minutes to play photographer, so a few hurried shots is usually the best I can expect.

Pattern: Nell, from Amber -A Winter Gathering, by Kim Hargreaves
Size: Smallest
Yarn: Cascade 128 Chunky, color 9475 (Sage), 11 skeins
Needles: US 10 (6mm) and US 9 (5.5 mm)
Ravelry: Project page, Pattern page

Modifications: Adjusted the waist shaping to suit my figure and different row gauge, and instead of doing the large cable pattern on the sleeves, did the two smaller cables with an inset of 5 stitches in the same pattern used in the center of the large cables. I thought that doing the full cable pattern would be too overwhelming. I also knitted the coat about 2″ shorter than the pattern called for (but did more pattern repeats, because I had a tighter row gauge). That was actually unintentional, as I meant to knit it to the correct length but messed up my measurements. It worked out well, though, because I like the length. My subconscious evidently knew what it was doing. I didn’t make the belt, because I’m pretty sure I would never wear it.

I knit the sleeves to the same number of rows as specified in the pattern, even though my row gauge was tighter. I figured the sleeves would stretch out quite a bit (which they did), and I didn’t want them hanging down over my hands. I’d prefer about another 1/2 to 1″ of length, but I can probably get that with my final blocking.

I knit the size that was “to fit” a 32″ bust, even though my bust is 36″. It appears that the intended finished size gives about 9″ of positive ease, which was more than I wanted. The coat ended up being about 40″ at rest, which is is pretty good. It’s stretchy enough that it would be fine at 1 to 2″ smaller, but it doesn’t feel oversized.

NaKniSweMoDo #15!

Nell

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to FO: Nell

  1. Shelley says:

    What a great sweater. The sleeves are just perfect. And, it looks wonderful on you. Job well done!

  2. Laurie says:

    Remarkable. I was cringing in the wings waiting for disaster.

  3. Cayenne says:

    She’s wonderful. She looks so cozy and fits you perfectly. Very impressive. As always, I love your color choice too.

  4. margene says:

    She is totally awesome, but even better than that! Good work. You’re going to love wearing that sweater all winter!

  5. Anne says:

    That’ll be PERFECT for cooler weather. I love how it came out!

  6. Cher says:

    Wow! wow! You are one talented lady! I love the cables and the color.

  7. Stacey says:

    She looks lovely on you. Another job well done.

  8. Norma says:

    Another HIT for you. That jacket would be so perfect for fall and spring weather around here. I bet if I [stole it from you] had it, I’d LIVE in it for a good part of the year!!!!!

  9. Wow, Cheryl, it looks awesome!

    I’ve said it before, you have great instincts. And taste.

  10. Chris says:

    Wow. I’m not sure it’s possible for cables to pop more than those do! It looks fabulous.

  11. Lori says:

    BEAUTIFUL! And you’re totally ready for fall.

  12. Nora says:

    It’s beautiful, Cheryl. You continue to amaze me with your skill!

  13. Cookie says:

    Another win (to keep away from our Norma)!

    You are so good. Well done!

  14. Carrie K says:

    Nell is gorgeous and she looks fabulous on you. Car coat size, perfect!

    If you aren’t, I’m totally ready for winter.

  15. Carrie says:

    /makes plans to head north and steal Nell before Norma can get her hooks into it…

  16. Charlotte says:

    That’s a great sweater! You did good.

  17. Chris says:

    I love the smaller cables on the arms, and whatever your mods were, it made the sweater perfect for you. It’s beautiful!

  18. LisaK says:

    Very nice! The fit is perfect and it looks great.

Leave a Reply

