Michigan Trip

My husband’s father died last week at age 88 after a short illness. He went into the hospital for a bowel obstruction, which was determined to have been caused by a hernia. They operated on him and he came out of the operation successfully, but then contracted pneumonia which would not respond to medication.

Although he was living in Las Vegas, his burial plot is in Michigan, so we flew out there over the weekend for the funeral. This gave my husband and his two brothers a chance to get together again.

The Three Stooges

From left to right, “Spike”, “The Pontiff”, and “Stache”.

They wanted to hold up a sign saying “The Three Orphans”. This is why we call them “The Three Stooges”.

We had a very nice visit with the rest of the Detroit family – it was great to see them again. My husband also had the chance to meet up with some old friends whom he hadn’t seen in many years.

We learned to play Mexican Train:

Mexican Train Dominoes

And ate more than our share of Buddy’s pizza:

Buddy's Pizza

Not to mention being force-fed huge amounts of food on a continuous basis throughout the weekend.

Oy.

It was amazing I fit into my clothes for the return trip.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Michigan Trip

  1. Cher says:

    I am so sorry to hear your father-in-law passed away.

  2. Chris says:

    So sorry to hear about your FIL.

  3. Anne says:

    My thoughts are with you and the Pontiff. I was sorry to hear about his dad. 😦

  4. I’m really glad you have happy memories of such a sad occasion.

    My sisters and I pronounce it “orfinks”.

  5. Lori says:

    Mexican Train is our new family get-together game, too! Sorry the trip was for a funeral, but glad you were able to have a nice visit with family while there.

  6. Cookie says:

    Oh, Cheryl, I am so sorry.

  7. margene says:

    Funerals for the elders often bring the good memories for the young family members. It may be sad reason that brings you together but it’s more a celebration of family.

  8. Nora says:

    Definitely one of those bittersweet occasions. Glad the family made the best of it.

  9. Stacey says:

    Sorry about your loss. Your family sounds wonderful. Oh and wisp is beautiful.

  10. Carrie K says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your FIL.

  11. Carrie says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your father in law. I’m glad that the family visit was otherwise soothing, though.

  12. Norma says:

    So sorry to hear about your father-in-law. It sounds like it was a very positive trip otherwise, though. I love that picture of the three stooges. The two on the outside are definitely brothers. The Pontiff? I’m not so sure. Hee.

Leave a Reply

