In Celebration of Eggplant

Besides being naughty, eggplant is a wonderful vegetable. Since it has little flavor of its own, and it happily soaks up the flavors of whatever you cook it with, it’s amazingly versatile.

I’ve had a huge bounty of eggplant this year, so I was afraid my husband would be a little annoyed at yet one more eggplant entree. But he LOVED this one – Moroccan Eggplant with Garbanzo Beans. Of course, he likes just about anything if it has garbanzo beans in it. Heh. I used to work with a woman whose kids called them “gob-knob-zo beans”. But I digress.

I cooked the eggplant mixture a wee bit too long, I think, because it looked a lot more like a stew than the pretty picture on the website. But nonetheless, it was very tasty. I just served it in bowls.

I didn’t have canned lentils (I’m not sure I’ve ever even seen canned lentils, other than as soup), so I cooked up 1/2 cup dry lentils and added them. I also had no cilantro (darn it!), so I just added a bit of fresh parsley instead. Otherwise, I made it according to the recipe.

We give it two thumbs up.

Oh, and for those who care, it’s both vegetarian and  gluten free.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In Celebration of Eggplant

  1. Chery says:

    Did you not include the recipe? I’d love to see it and try it, too.

  2. cheryl says:

    oops – link to recipe was wrong. It’s fixed now.

  3. Cookie says:

    Sounds yummy.

    When is National Eggplant Appreciation Month, anyway? ;^)

  4. Norma says:

    gob-knob-zo — at least they were kids. I am always reminded with a shudder of my sister-in-law who pronounces sphagnum moss “SPANG-um.”

    I want to kill her. But then, it doesn’t take much with me and her. Heh.

  5. Chris says:

    And it does sound tasty!

  6. margene says:

    It smelled so good when we dropped in last night!

  7. Nora says:

    That does sound good. I’m generally a little “meh” on eggplant because of the texture, although I do like those little Thai eggplants. But, yeah, with garbanzos and lentils… yum!

  8. elizabeth says:

    That sounds good! I made something last night that I bet your husband would like – Whole Wheat Spaghetti w/Garlic, Tomatoes and Sage:
    http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10984?section=154

    I added some toasted walnuts to the top and it was really, really good!

  9. Miss T says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen canned lentils, either.

  10. Carrie K says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen canned lentils either. That dish sounds yummy.

Leave a Reply

