Road Kill

While the vegetarian’s away, the omnivore will eat meat.

As I’m a bachelorette for a few days, Margene and her husband invited me over to have dinner last night. Smith made everything from salad to dessert. It was all fabulous, especially the pork ribs he’d been grilling for hours. And the grilled peaches and pears with vanilla ice cream and whiskey sauce? Yum.

I love pork. I think it’s my favorite meat. Especially in Mexican food. Carnitas, chile verde, tamales, etc.

Which is probably why I bought this when I went to Costco:

Carnitas

We will not discuss how silly it was for me to buy two pounds (TWO POUNDS!) of carnitas, when there are two excellent taco carts two blocks from my house. There are, in fact, about a half dozen taco carts within three blocks. It would have made much more sense to just walk over there and buy a couple of tacos de carnitas. I’m blaming it on Costco fever. At least I was clever enough to divide some up into little foil packets to stick in the freezer.

And then there’s this…

Corned Beef Hash

I lurves me some corned beef hash and eggs. Gonna go fry some up now. Maybe I’ll have some carnitas on the side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Road Kill

  1. Love it! Did you use foil instead of plastic wrap because it’s opaque?

  2. Amy says:

    Hee. A really good friend of mine is the only omnivore in a houseful of vegetarians, so now and then I bring her some leftovers with meat–chili, soups, stews, etc. She’s always happy to have them!

  3. Stacey says:

    Carnitas are good. 😀 And you can use that meat in a lot of things.

  4. Carrie says:

    I’ve never been able to stand pork, which makes me weep with sadness when I go to my favorite restaurant and smell or see their green chile pork stew.

  5. Kathy says:

    Dinner at the Smiths sounds thoroughly delicious!!

    We were pleasantly surprised by all of the Mexican food in SLC (my husband is Mexican). Have you ever tried chilorio? It’s yummy. Here’s a link . . . http://www.mexgrocer.com/1800.html

  6. elizabeth says:

    So funny, I knew when I became a vegetarian that the hardest thing for me to give up would be bacon, and that’s the first thing I ate when I decided to go back to being an omnivore! Your dinner sounds wonderful, Smith must be a real chef!

  7. Cher says:

    I have never had corned beef hash. Someday I would love to try it.

  8. Cookie says:

    Now I want corned beef hash, and eggs and toast.

  9. Carole says:

    Smith is a great cook – lucky you!

  10. margene says:

    Hey-while the cats away! You’ll be well prepared for the next time he’s gone. It was fun to have you join us for Smith’s first “100T% start to finish dinner”.

  11. Carrie K says:

    Lots of carnitas on the side. Think you’ll finish that bag by the end of 09?

    Ingenue looks fabulous! ITA it’s your enormous brain in your perfectly shaped smallish head thaat gives you headaches. 😉

  12. Norma says:

    Having suffered from Costco fever (I still recall that very first visit there, and bringing back about 25 pounds of vegetables! so many years ago) many times, I can so relate. Everything looks smaller in there, since it’s so HEEEYUUUUGE.

Leave a Reply

