My Vogue Moment

A tale of woe.

Remember my post from a week or so ago, where I mentioned my fear of having a Vogue moment with Beatnik and ending up with mis-crossed cables that I didn’t notice until the sweater was done?

Uh, yeah.

This was my sweater at about 8:30 pm last night.

Beatnik oops

Can you see the problem?

Beatnik oops moment

Yellow marks the spot(s). I missed the cable crosses in the center panel nearly 2 repeats back. The one place you don’t ever want a mistake is in the middle of your chest. If I were wearing the sweater, the error would be right over the “girls”. Frack, frack, frickety-frack!!!!

I couldn’t just drop down the 5 stitches involved in each cable cross because of the interwoven cables – so I had to frog the entire center panel down 28 rows and reknit it.

Beatnik - cables fixed

This is my sweater as of 10:30 pm last night. The reknitting is a bit wonky in some places, but I think it will be fine after blocking. At least it didn’t take as long to reknit as I expected.

I kept kicking myself for not seeing it earlier, even though I looked at it periodically. As Sherlock Holmes said, “You see, but you do not observe”.

Yeah. I feel pretty vague. I mean Vogue. Whatever.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My Vogue Moment

  1. Kitten says:

    oh, ouch. but that repair would have taken me six days.

  2. jill says:

    Nicely done! Time to pour a glass. Cheers!

  3. Chris says:

    Maybe you shouldn’t have invoked that issue?!??

  4. margene says:

    OMG, if only you hadn’t brought up the issue in the first place! DAMN!!! This totally sounds like something I would do except I wouldn’t have finished the sweater and noticed it after I’d seamed.

  5. Laritza says:

    Worse could have happened, pieces sewed, sweater blocked…….The knitting will even out when you wash it. Good for fixing it!

  6. Elizabeth L in Apex, NC says:

    Glad you caught it before seaming, though. Yes? And really, I am so impressed you fixed that in only two hours! Looks wonderful – keep on knitting!

  7. Nora says:

    Oh, I’m glad it’s all over now. I have a few Vague moments in my current aran sweater in progress, but I’m leaving them for character.

  8. Squishy says:

    At least you caught it before you had random people checking out the girls. 😀

  9. Carrie#K says:

    I don’t see it but I’m sure you’re happy it’s fixed! And having to drop down that whole panel! Yikes!

  10. Liz says:

    That’s so considerate that you are taking such good care of your girls! I am impressed you did all that repair in one day!

Leave a Reply

