Cardigan Surgery

I finished both fronts and the back piece of my Drops 111-33 cardigan, but I had a small problem. After finishing the first front, I gave it a bath and set it out to dry. It turned out a bit smaller than I had expected from my swatch. I decided to do the second front and then just make the back a little bigger if necessary.

But the second front piece turned out bigger – it matched what I had expected from the swatch. Grrrr. I figured I might as well knit the back and then decide what to do about the different fronts. The back matched the second front, so I had to figure out what to do with the first one. It mostly just needed lengthening at the bottom – so I figured I might as well try a bit of surgery.

Flounce cardigan surgery

Snip!

I put a thin needle through a row of stitches just above the ribbing, and then another one in the row 2 rows above. I snipped a thread on the row in between, and unraveled it. I added a few rows, and then grafted the pieces back together. I think it came out pretty well!

Flounce cardigan after lengthening

A little shoulder adjustment too, and I think I’m on the right track.

Flounce cardigan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cardigan Surgery

  1. Heather says:

    It looks great!

  2. Stacey says:

    Nice thinking. It looks awesome.

  3. Anne says:

    I’d bet no one but you notices it. Not even the knitting police. 🙂

  4. margene says:

    Wow! That’s a better fix than knitting the whole front again!

  5. vicki says:

    Woohoo! That’s fantastic. And WAY better than knitting it again!!

  6. Rachel says:

    Very creative solution and it looks perfect. Excellent idea and execution.

  7. jill says:

    You could teach knitting at Hogwarts! You make magic!

Leave a Reply

