Bad Flouncy! Bad!

Now that I have impressed you with a line of successes, let me entertain you with a tale of woe.

I mentioned that I was having problems with my Flouncy cardigan. (AKA: “111-33 Jacket in stockinette st with flounce borders in ‘Alpaca'” – gotta love those names)

I had the fronts and back done, and the sleeves done past the elbows – and all seamed together. But it was just not right. It was a bit snug (though acceptable) in the hips and waist, but way too big across the chest and shoulders. One front piece was smaller than the other due to a gauge issue, and although I’d added in some extra rows and blocked the heck out of it, it still wasn’t really quite right.

I unseamed everything and ripped the back down to the waist, and then reknit the back with fewer increases through the bust. I hopefully pinned it all back together, but it was still a disaster. After throwing in the corner for a few days while I sulked worked on other projects, I finally decided to just rip the whole *@#^ thing out and start over.

So here we are… from nearly finished, to barely started.

So what went wrong? I guess a lot of things combined.

* I made a poor decision on size, choosing to knit a size that would have a couple of inches positive ease. Most of my cardigans are fitted enough that I only wear them over sleeveless tops, and I was thinking it would be nice to have something that could be worn over tops with sleeves. However, this pattern is designed to be closely fitted, so it was the wrong pattern to decide to make with a lot of positive ease.

* I didn’t bother to really check the waist shaping. I knew that it had a bit more shaping than I usually do, and also noticed that the hip measurement was smaller than the bust measurement. Neither of those worried me, because most of the Drops sweaters I’ve done have not been a problem with shaping. However, this pattern has much more severe waist shaping than the others. And though I’ve done some with smaller hip circumference, they were shorter, and worked out nicely so that I didn’t get any flaring at the hip. But this one is longer, and there’s too much junk in the trunk, so it definitely had to stretch to fit.

* My gauge changed. I started with the front left piece, and it ended up being smaller than I expected from my gauge swatch. But, since I had positive ease anyway, I figured it would probably still work out, so I knit the front right piece. Surprise! It turned out quite a bit larger, and more what I expected from the gauge swatch. At that point, I figured the best thing was to just knit the back, and then I could reknit one of the fronts to match if needed. But since the back matched the larger front piece, and the entire thing was too big, there wasn’t much to be done.

* I suspect the pattern may simply be a bit large at the top anyway, unless you are a Norwegian model with nice broad shoulders. Another person mentioned that there was a lot of excess fabric, and on some of the other projects, it looked like it was, even though they didn’t say anything about it. The ones that looked like they fit well had been modified, but there were no specifics about the modifications. Even on the pattern model, it’s worn with the bottom buttons open, and you can see that there is some extra fabric in front of the armhole.

So what am I doing differently? I decided I’d try to knit it to match my Basic Black cardigan, which is of similar shape and fits well. I’ll use the original pattern’s decreases for the front neck, because it’s a slimmer v-neck than Basic Black, and I like it better.

Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bad Flouncy! Bad!

  1. Chris says:

    Good luck! I would’ve left it in the corner forever. 🙂

  2. jill says:

    The best of luck to you Cheryl! You amaze we with your tenacity and genius.

  3. margene says:

    I wondered when, or if, you’d admit the error of the sweater. You’re on the right track now!

  4. Kitten says:

    I think I would have lined the cat bed with it, just for fear that the yarn was possessed.

  5. Cookie says:

    Good luck! Show that cardi who’s boss!

  6. Rachel says:

    Good luck! I admire your determination and I am sure in the end you will have a lovely cardi to keep you warm.

Leave a Reply

