Disembodied Sleeves

With the cold weather we’ve been having, I was noticing that I needed something to keep my wrists warm when walking outside. Despite gloves (or mittens) and a coat, the cold air would leak in between the gloves and sleeves.

Knitting to the rescue!

Armwarmers

I grabbed some leftover Donegal Tweed and set off to make armwarmers. I think they’ll do nicely.

I just wanted something that would come up the the base of my thumbs. They’ll stretch over the cuff of most of my gloves, or I can push them down farther if I need to.

Of course, it isn’t the softest yarn, but I like it. It’s been cool in the house, so I’ve been reluctant to take them off. Details are on here.

Armwarmers

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Disembodied Sleeves

  1. Cookie says:

    Yay!

    I’ve been thinking about doing that, too, with the recent change in temps.

  2. Carrie#K says:

    Very practical. Donegal Tweed is really pretty too.

  3. Monica says:

    So pretty. And you have a Polish mug! I love Polish pottery.

  4. Chris says:

    Rinse them in hair conditioner next time you wash them. 🙂

  5. margene says:

    They’ll be perfect for cold mornings or days of inversions. Chris has a great idea to soften them!

  6. Heather says:

    Cute and useful!

  7. Kitten says:

    Cute! And the sweater is lovely too. I need to knit myself another one…

  8. Stacey says:

    Although you say the yarn doesn’t feel the best, it sure does look nice. I love my arm warmers and it seems like I’m constantly wearing them. Enjoy yours.

    • Cheryl says:

      I love Donegal Tweed and don’t mind the slight scratchiness of it. I know it will soften up after washing, and with wear. I probably wouldn’t want it around my neck as a scarf, but it’s fine on my arms.

  9. jill says:

    So pretty and warm! I need to knit some of those – I shrunk my jammies and now the sleeves are too darn short!! Those would be just the ticket!

  10. redsilvia says:

    Very cute and I love the tweed yarn! I can imagine you don’t want to take them off. I went through SLC last weekend and it was freaking cold just in the jetway! And it was daytime! Yikes.

  11. Rebecca says:

    Okay…..so WHY has it taken me this long to figure out you have moved your blog? Don’t even ask. I just moved mine, too. Probably for some of the same reasons you have. I love fingerless mittens and really need to get busy knitting some up for myself. I just so happen to have some Donegal Tweed…………

  12. luci says:

    Love my wrist warmers. The yarn I used is a lighter weight tweed, but the pattern still works. They are a little shorter, perhaps, but they feel wonderful on my wrists. Thank you very much for the pattern.

Leave a Reply

