The Year of the Sky

I was inspired by this project to knit a scarf over a year, using the colors of the sky each day. I’ve collected a variety of laceweight yarns, and am ready to begin tonight.

Sky Scarf yarn

I’ve decided to use the Lacy Baktus pattern, as I don’t want a rectangular scarf. I think the 366 stripes (it’s leap year!) should make a good-sized scarf.

Fortunately, the weather reports show mostly sunny skies for the next few days, so I should be getting in a nice amount of blue to start off the year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Year of the Sky

  1. margene says:

    I was on the fence about this project but then Vicki sent me a package full of “sky yarn”. I’m going to do the lacy Baktus, too…but I need to find some salmon, pink and/or gold for the beautiful sunrises and sunsets we have! Starting the scarf with rows of blue isn’t all bad!

  2. Cookie says:

    Woo Hoo! I’m looking forward to seeing how this project goes for you and our Margene.

  3. Rebecca says:

    What a great idea! I’m going to have to check into this because it sure would be nice to have a new scarf to wear next December when I am busy knitting for others!

  4. Vicki says:

    Lacy Baktus is an excellent project for knitting the sky! I have ended up with a much more traditional start, though it’ll take a turn. Also, gray… it’s a very gray start to the year here. Hopefully, blue sky for you mean that I’ll see it soon!

  5. Chris says:

    What about sunrises and sunsets? 🙂

    • Cheryl says:

      I considered that, and I do have some orange/pink/gold yarns to add. But when I did a test swatch, I wasn’t too crazy about how it looked. So we’ll see.

  6. Carrie#K says:

    What about partially cloudy days?

Leave a Reply

