The Sweater of Guilt

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this one on the blog yet.

Sweater of Guilt
Frequently when I’m making a sweater for myself, my husband reaches over, feels the fabric, and says “That would make a nice vest!” (For himself, of course.)

I finally decided it was time to make another sweater for him, so I started on an Elizabeth Zimmermann Seamless Hybrid with Shirt Yoke, using some Patons Merino I’ve had in the stash for years.

I didn’t tell him about it at first – just used the measurements from the last sweater I made him, and started working on it. That was my road trip project for Las Vegas. Sure enough, about halfway down to Vegas, when we stopped for gas, he said “That would make a nice vest!” My response was that I was making a sweater for him, but that I could turn it into a vest if he preferred. He was very excited when he found out it was something for him.

I decided to knit the sleeves downward, so that I can adjust the length and shaping as I go, so I only just did enough of them to join to the body and decide if the cast-on number is good. (The first try wasn’t – I needed to add a half inch to the sleeve.)

I’m getting close to starting the first saddle. I had him try it on last night, and it looks pretty good so far.

Gotta hurry and finish it up so I can get back to knitting for myself. I’m so selfish.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Sweater of Guilt

  1. Kitten says:

    I was going to say that I need to find a smaller husband if I’m going to knit for him. Then I remembered I have small sons and don’t knit for them either. Apparently I’m happy being a selfish knitter…

  2. Cookie says:

    You told him that he has to be good or you’ll give it to Smith, right? ;^)

  3. Chris says:

    Catchy name for that one. 😉

  4. Charlotte says:

    Why are you knitting a sweater when he keeps talking about a vest?

  5. jill says:

    A wonderfully cheery color for the winter. I’m still finishing Christmas knitting for two who requested last minute knits and I’m wanting to knit for me, me, me. Maybe “selfish” and “knitting” shouldn’t be used in the same sentence for a knitter.

  6. elizabeth says:

    Who says guilt is a worthless emotion?!?!?

Leave a Reply

