FO: Bitterroot

Bitterroot

I had planned to finish this scarf while at Brian Head, but somehow I managed not to have packed the last chart. I did have my iPod with me, though, and knew that if I could get to some wi-fi, I could get the chart from Knitty. The Condo development we were staying at did have free wi-fi, but not at the building we were in. I finally managed to find some time to run over to the office and get it downloaded… but viewing it on that tiny screen was a bit difficult. I got through most of the chart on the drive back, but the last few rows were a little too complicated for back-seat knitting, so I ended up leaving it until I got home.

The pattern calls for beads, and it would be a really first beaded shawl project because it’s small and there wouldn’t be a lot of beads. But I really didn’t want to be bothered looking for them, so I just did nupps instead.

Bitterroot

It’s a very simple pattern before you get to the border, so it’s a good traveling project.

Pattern: Bitterroot, by Romi Hill
Size: Small (scarf)
Yarn: Malabrigo Laceweight in “Lettuce”, less than 1 skein (I used about 400 yards)
Needles: US 6/4mm
Ravelry: Project page, pattern page

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to FO: Bitterroot

  1. margene says:

    Pretty! The color is perfect on you. I like the nupps as a way of forgoing beads.

  2. Ann says:

    Just beautiful! FYI, there is 24 hour free wifi service at the Brian Head Town Hall on the left as you come up the mountain and enter the town. They have a little lock out area when you first come in the door where it’s warm and fully equipped with a desk, etc.

  3. Heather says:

    Perfect yarn/pattern combo. Nupps ROCK.

  4. jill says:

    What a great color! I’ve not done beads yet either; I’m fond of nupps. They’re fun!

  5. Chris says:

    Lovely!! I’m impressed that you were able to read lace charts from an iPod screen, too. 🙂

  6. kitten says:

    I read charts from my phone all the time because I can never keep track of my papers. Pretty pretty shawl, but isn’t there some sort of law against doing a Romi pattern that doesn’t have beads?

  7. vicki says:

    That’s lovely, Cheryl! I love the green — and it goes well with your header photo. ; )

  8. Cookie says:

    I like it without the beads. I think the nupps are a good replacement. Don’t tell our Kitten, but we can’t be shiny and jazzy all the time.

Leave a Reply

