When Germany and Italy Collide

You end up with something like Shrimp and Spaetzle.

Shrimp and Spaetzle

I bought some lovely wild shrimp on sale, and went through the usual what-should-I-make-with-this routine.

Having recently reorganized the freezer, I knew there were a few frozen tomatoes left from last year’s garden. I defrosted a few of those (red and orange), and mixed them with a few fresh chopped Campari tomatoes, figuring to make a quick sauce. But what else to have with it? I considered pasta or couscous… but then decided I’ve been in the mood for spaetzle. I de-shelled and de-veined the shrimp, then tossed them in the steamer to cook.

While the shrimp were steaming, I mixed up the spaetzle batter and left it to stand while I started the water boiling and made the sauce – olive oil, the tomatoes, a bit of garlic, some salt, a good sprinkle of Italian herbs, and a couple of glugs of Sambuca. While that was simmering down into a sauce, I cooked the spaetzle and drained it, then put a bit of butter in the bottom of the cooking pot and put the drained spaetzle back in, tossing it in the butter and letting it brown a bit. By then, the shrimp was cooked. I added a tablespoon or two of butter to the tomato sauce, then turned off the heat and tossed in the shrimp.

Totally yum. A touch of fresh fennel or some fennel seeds would have been a nice touch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When Germany and Italy Collide

  1. Reblogged this on Deborah Siregar and commented:
    ouulalaaa~

  2. jill says:

    Shrimp? Butter? I’m in.

  3. Cookie says:

    Sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

