FO: Plant Pockets

Actually, I guess it’s only “plant pocket”, singular. But I’m making a few more, so it won’t be lonely for long.

Plant Pocket

Pattern: Plant Pockets, by Heather Powazek Champ
Yarn: Red Hearts Supersaver, “Cafe Latte”
Needle: US 8/5mm
Ravelry: project page, pattern page

Modifications: I changed the pattern so that I could knit it in the round on DPNs rather than seaming it at the end. Details are on my Ravelry project (link above).

Since it’s not quite as humid here as it is in San Francisco (slight understatement, eh?), I had the brilliant idea of using some of those plastic “pillows” that come as packing material as a pocket liner. I just cut the top to be even with the top of the pocket, poked a few holes for drainage. The width of the plastic pocket was a little bigger than the knitted pocket, but I just folded the edges in and it worked fine. Hopefully that will keep enough moisture in the pocket to keep  the soil most enough between waterings so that the succulents won’t die.

Plastic packing pillows

I’m a little concerned that strong winds will wreak havoc with it, though. Without access to the back of the fence, I can’t put a tie on the bottom, so I just did the tie on the top and looped it over a fence board. We’ll see what happens. Hopefully the racoons will leave it alone when they come back to knock over the bird bath again.

Plant Pocket

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FO: Plant Pockets

  1. Cookie says:

    I love it! You are so good!

  2. zeneedle says:

    This should be interesting.

  3. jill says:

    I am SO doing this!

  4. redsilvia says:

    What a clever idea! I think you’re plastic idea will be just fine and those succulents are hard to kill so that’s a good choice 😉

  5. Kitten says:

    I bet you could fashion up a little hook (maybe the top of a metal hanger or something) to catch a loop at the bottom. It’s cute!

  6. Chris says:

    Oh, that is a clever little thing! Hmm. Gift idea. 😀

  7. vicki says:

    Super cute. Love the earthy brown.

  8. Pingback: More gardening stuff | CabledSheep

Leave a Reply

