Major Yum

Spinach and Artichoke grilled cheese

Did that grab your attention?

A few days ago I happened to spy the photo for this Spinach and Artichoke Grilled Cheese recipe when Carole pinned it. After I stopped drooling, I realized that I actually had all of the ingredients on hand, including some Dave’s Killer Bread 21 grain loaf. I don’t normally have sandwich bread on hand, nor fresh spinach except when it’s growing in the garden.

Obviously it was a sign.

So of course, I made it for lunch. The only change I made from the recipe was to use Comté* cheese instead of Mozzarella, and I don’t think I used quite as much as the recipe called for (I didn’t measure it).

It was awesome. Trumpets blared, angels sang. Frying the bread in the mixture of oil and butter made the bread very crisp and tasty. We both gave it an enthusiastic thumbs up. It was so good, I nearly made it again for dinner. Hmm. Maybe I’ll make it again tonight.

*I  recently took a wine and cheese class from a woman who’s the “Cheese Ambassador” for some large French cheese companies. She told us that Comté is the biggest-selling cheese in France. If you haven’t had it, it’s somewhat similar to Gruyere. I get it at Costco, but I think it’s pretty widely available at stores with a good cheese selection. She also told us that in France, Brie is for children. The adults eat Camembert. True or not? I have no idea. But it was interesting. Great class, by the way. She brought in some really wonderful cheeses that aren’t normally available here, like Époisses and Livarot.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Major Yum

  1. Carole says:

    I’m so glad you made it! I’m definitely going to try it – I know Hannah will love it, too, and she will be home in a couple of weeks.

  2. Chris says:

    That sandwich looks soooooo good. Hmm. I have some gf sandwich bread in the freezer…

  3. zeneedle says:

    OMG that looks SO good! Pinterest is the best place to keep recipes.

  4. Cookie says:

    Yummy!

  5. Kitten says:

    You must have facebooked that, because I knew you’d made it and have it marked to try. I’ll also be trying some of those others – I love brie and gruyere and have never tried camembert or comte.

  6. jill says:

    Oh my! A nice crisp summer white and I’m in!

  7. Laurie says:

    This will be a MUST TRY.

  8. Lynn in Tucson says:

    She had a Livarot? Chance and I smuggled one home from France! (We lucked out. On September 20, 2001, cheese is not what they were searching for in people’s bags. Nonetheless, we had to sacrifice a sausage to distract them.)

Leave a Reply

