More gardening stuff

It wasn’t until I was rummaging through my garden shed that I saw I had a tub of Watersorb polymer crystals. Aha! A few of these would be perfect in my plant pockets to help retain water. And our clever Kitten had an awesome solution to my problem of not being able to tie a bottom tie through the fence – she suggested putting loops on each corner, and stapling them to the fence, or using cup hooks to mount them so they could be moved. She’s a wise woman.

Must remember to add some to my container plants, too. Which of course, is why I bought the stuff in the first place.

And speaking of container gardens, what should I plant in the awesome new planter box my husband just made from cedar boards we had lying around? All the wood for this project was already on hand, so it was basically free.

It’s a whopping 6′ x 2′, and will be great for jazzing up the ugly cement pad we have at the back of our yard. Between the plain cedar fence and the plain cement pad, it’s pretty much been a barren wasteland back there. Some greenery should help.

(The “frown” on the fence is from where I had a lovely-but-huge-and-heavy garden plaque hanging for years, until the hangers got metal fatigue and it fell and broke. Bummer.)

But now the problem is what to plant in it. Veggies? Flowers? Both? The fence faces west but is shaded a little by the trees on the other side of the fence. It gets full sun for at least 6 hours in the afternoons, though. Any suggestions?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to More gardening stuff

  1. Chris says:

    I know nothing about growing plants, but that’s a very cool planter!

  2. zeneedle says:

    Flowers, flowers, flowers! It would be beautiful full of beautiful color blooms! Great job, Larry!!

  3. kitten says:

    That stuff looks slimy. :/ (I want to fill a vase with it and stuff colored fairy balls in it.)
    Nice job Larry! You could put basil and some flowers – I don’t like to eat basil except in tiny amounts, but they’re lovely when they go to seed.

  4. Great job … I have the proverbial cement thumb but admire the skill and vision of others!

  5. Carrie#K says:

    Flowers. Or flowering veggies? Like eggplant? I’m about ready to plant my oodles of woodles soon, so excited! Cross your fingers for me…

  6. jill says:

    Raspberries!!

  7. Johnny says:

    I love the look your backyard! Every looks so refined, you put a lot of work into it.

Leave a Reply

