Socks!

Socks! I have finished socks!

It’s a miracle, I know.

Sprouting Socks

I had to cast on for these after seeing them on Cookie’s blog.

Pattern: Sprouting, by Beata Jezek
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill, in “Java”
Needles: US 1.5 (2.5mm)
Ravelry: Project page, pattern page

Modifications: I made the ribbing on the cuff a little shorter. I don’t really know why.  I did it on the first one, so I had to make the second to match. Maybe I just got tired of the  ribbing. For the toe, I made a star toe instead of a wedge toe. I love how the star toe fits my feet. Oh, and I didn’t do the purl row between the cables and the toe. I tried it, but I didn’t like how it looked so I left it out.

These socks are unusual because they start with an 80-stitch cast-on at the cuff, but decrease down to 64 stitches at the foot. They need the extra stitches because of the cables. I really like how they fit my feet – I have a high instep, and these work really well.

Probably the only thing I would do differently would be to use a size smaller needle for the ribbing at the cuff, then change to the 2.5mm when starting the cables, since the cuff ribbing seems very loose. But it probably isn’t necessary since the ribbing is so stretchy that it still stays put on the leg.

Oh, and just so you don’t think I’m cheating and only made one:

Sprouting Socks

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Socks!

  1. Cookie says:

    Fabulous!

    I had no idea you knit socks! *L*

  2. Carole says:

    Oooh, I really like those. Great job.

  3. zeneedle says:

    It’s been so long since you’re made a pair of socks. They look fabulous!

  4. Monica says:

    Pretty!!! I love those. I had to cast on for a pair of socks on Saturday… It had been over a month since I made any and I was jonesing.

  5. Kitten says:

    Those really are cute. I love cabled socks.

  6. elizabeth says:

    I love those! I’ve queued the pattern, now to find the right yarn! Do you think you could have made them on US1s? I don’t have any 1.5s…

  7. Stacey says:

    Yeah, what Cookie said!

  8. Chris says:

    LOL at Cookie and Stacey. Those are gorgeous – the cabling really pops.

  9. Carrie#K says:

    Trick photography. Cute socks! The cables really do pop.

  10. jill says:

    Those look so lush! Wonderful, wonderful. You are truly the Modify Maven.

  11. Heather says:

    Those are awesome.

  12. They look great! It’s hard to hide them in shoes, isn’t it? One word: Birkenstocks. 🙂

  13. Chris says:

    Happy birthday! 🙂

  14. elizabeth says:

    Happy birthday!!! hope it’s fabulous!

  15. Laurie says:

    Happy birthday! I’m sure you have something fun planned.

  16. Suzanne says:

    Happy Birthday! Love the socks.

  17. CaroleP (ohio says:

    Hope you had a Happy Birthday!
    Plan to do those socks – love them!

  18. redsilvia says:

    Happy birthday! I hope you have a wonderful time celebrating.

  19. Laurie says:

    Nice colorway! And you would NEVER cheat.

Leave a Reply

