FO: Atalanta Sideways

I’m so happy to have my Atalanta shawl finished so I can wear it before summer hits.

Atalanta Sideways

It will be just right for the still-cool mornings and evenings for a little while, or for all of those over-air-conditioned restaurants and stores.

Atalanta Sideways

This is a really great pattern. It’s well-written, easy to knit, and the border looks very impressive. Since it’s knit sideways, you can easily adapt it to however much yarn you want to use – just knit until you’re a little less than halfway through the yarn, then start decreasing. You can make it more triangular or more crescent-shaped depending on how many medallions you do in the middle section between the increases and decreases.

It worked out really well with the madelinetosh tosh sock, though the picot edge does tend to want to flip over a little bit. I think it would be awesome in a yarn with even more drape, like silk or linen. But still, I love this yarn and think it worked well with the pattern.

The edging would look really great on a knit skirt – not that I’m ever likely to make one (or wear one). But maybe for the hem of a tunic?

Pattern: Atalanta Sideways, by by Åsa Tricosa
Yarn: madelinetosh tosh sock, “nutmeg”, 2 skeins
Needles: US 3/3.25mm

Modifications:

I went down in needle size from the US 6/4mm recommended in the pattern, because I had a lot more yarn than called for, and I wanted the shawl to be more dense. As it was, I had 22 grams of yarn left from the two skeins. I deliberately used less than one skein for the first half of the shawl, partly for insurance, and partly because I knew it was going to be pretty good sized, and I didn’t really need it to be any longer.

I worked the initial increase rate until there were 24 stitches in the body, and then increased until I had 64 stitches in the body. I worked 18 medallions straight, then started the decreases.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to FO: Atalanta Sideways

  1. Kitten says:

    How is it that you manage to knit every single garment in a (different) color that suits you perfectly? (Also, you could just knit the edging on a narrow strip of stockinette and sew it to the bottom of a skirt.)

  2. Carole says:

    That really is lovely and the border is gorgeous. Great color, too.

  3. vicki says:

    Gorgeous! That is all. 😉

  4. redsilvia says:

    Love it! And the color is wonderful! And your hair is so long! Love it like that.

  5. Chris says:

    It’s lovely – and the edging IS impressive looking.

  6. zeneedle says:

    The edging looks like jewelry. This shawl and color looks fabulous on you!

  7. Cookie says:

    Fabulous!

  8. jill says:

    I have to echo the first comment. You look fantastic in every one of the many colors you knit! And the shawl is another winner. So perfect in every way.

  9. Pretty! It is definitely a go-with-everything kinda piece!!

  10. Kym says:

    I love every single thing about that wrap! Perfectly perfect.

Leave a Reply

