And of course, that means new projects

Now that I’ve finished one SnB knitting project, it’s time of course, to cast on for another.

The Progression Shawl is too complicated to work on in public, but I also need something a bit larger than a purse project.

Bliss Ranch Yarn

I’ve had this Bliss Ranch Yarn marinating in my stash since I went to the Estes Wool Festival (in, ahem, 2007). It’s sport-weight wool, in Brindle (the dark color), and Hickory (the light color). I’m estimating from the label’s stated yards per pound that I have approximately 930 yards of the dark, and 866 yards of the light. My original thought was to combine the colors in a sweater, but I never came up with any good ideas. Tempest was one thought, but I’m not really sure I’d be happy wearing those big stripes.

Then after seeing everyone’s wonderful Stripe Study shawls, I was thinking that might be a good project, even though I have twice as much yarn as I’d need.

But I’ve also been working on a shoulder wrap out of Shibui Knits Linen. I don’t have a pattern, I’m just taking inspiration from a wrap I saw at an airport gift shop. The yarn is rough and stiff to work with, but when it’s washed, it has a wonderful drape.

Linen Wrap

When I was at my LYS the other day, where I bought the yarn, there was a fabulous Color Affection shop sample made out of this yarn. It felt so wonderful and drapey. It also reminded me of how much I like that shawl, but I wasn’t sure I wanted to buy 6 skeins of the linen yarn for it. But that got me to thinking. Could I make a two-color Color Affection? I didn’t see why not, considering the construction. So I stole this template from another Raveler (with her permission), and did a mock-up:

Two-tone affection

I think I like it. It will use up more of the yarn than using it for Stripe Study. Then I may have to consider buying the linen yarn to make Stripe Study. I think I can get by with 4 skeins.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to And of course, that means new projects

  1. zeneedle says:

    The mock up looks great. I think you’re onto something!

  2. Kitten says:

    Yeah, I’m with Margene – I think I like the two color even better than the three color ones I’ve seen (and it seems like it’s really really easy to go really really wrong with color on that one (in my estimation).

  3. susan says:

    I’ve been thinking of doing a two-color Color Affection. Thanks for doing the research for me.

  4. I await the finished product … 🙂

  5. Carrie#K says:

    I think it mocks up really nicely as well.

  6. Cookie says:

    You’re onto something. I like this mock up. The 3 color versions I’ve seen make me sad. Too much ya-ya and neediness. Ya know?

  7. Chris says:

    LOL at Cookie’s comment about “ya-ya and neediness”!

  8. Trista says:

    Well, I love the idea of the linen affection, so I’m going to tempt you with a few ideas for the other yarns! ‘Stripe Wrap Cardigan’ by Monica Welle on Ravelry (free pattern for 2 colors and you have enough yardage) another is ‘Caramel’ by Isabell Kraemer (also free) but my very favorite one is the new ‘Bethany Wrap’ by Amy Miller in the new Summer 2012 Interweave Knits. This one is a lovely striped drape front cardi with a solid stand up collar in the back. It’s in cotton for summer, but I think it would be lovely in wool or wool blend. Whatever you do will be fun to see. I really want to start my own Color Affection, and bought the pattern as soon as it was released- and I have 3 neutral Tosh sock yarns for it, but I keep knitting sweaters instead!

  9. Laurie says:

    CLever, as always. Knit something you like, use up pretty stash, have a functional FO in the bargain. Patent that.

Leave a Reply

