Let’s Make Migas

Or as we call it around here, Mexican Matzo Brei.

Start by cutting some corn tortillas into strips. This is a great use for tortillas that are getting a bit old and dry. Fry them in oil until they’re a bit crisp, but not brown, then drain them on paper towels. Sprinkle them with a bit of salt, if you like.

Migas 1 - cooking the tortillas

While the tortillas are draining, whisk up some eggs. Heat a bit of oil or butter in your pan, then add the eggs. Toss in whatever else you think might be good – I added black beans and chopped tomato. If I’d had some onion or bell pepper, I probably would have sauteed them and then added the eggs. Throw the fried tortilla strips on top.

Migas 2 - in the pan

Cook and scramble it all together. When it’s just about done, throw in some cheese. I also had a tiny bit of cilantro that I tossed in as well.

Migas 3 - all scrambled up

Then I served it topped with some Pico de Gallo.

Migas 4 - ready to eat

Yum!

I used a proportion of 1 tortilla to one extra-large egg. I looked at lots of recipes, and while there were huge variations in the ratio, most were in the range of 1 to 2 eggs per tortilla, with 1:1 probably being the most common.

Other than the eggs and corn tortillas, it’s pretty much a matter of adding whatever sounds good.

And yes, you can even use tortilla chips instead of frying up some tortillas. I tried it again this morning using chips instead of frying the tortillas. I broke the chips (strips, actually) into about 1″ pieces, and guesstimated using 1 cup for 2 eggs. I put the chips in with the raw egg mixture and let it sit for a minute to soften up before putting the whole mixture into the frying pan.

The result? Good, but not quite as delicious as with the tortillas. The chips were still a little bit “al dente”, and I think there are too many chips. If I make it again with chips, I’ll cut it back to about 3/4 cup chips for 2 eggs, and let them soak a little longer before cooking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let’s Make Migas

  1. kitten says:

    You cook amazing things, knit a constant stream of beautiful stuff, you look amazing, and your garden is lovely. Seriously, if I didn’t like you so much, I would really not like you. 😉

  2. Susan says:

    Until I read this, I thought chopping up my leftover asparagus and tossing that in my eggs this morning was creative. Sounds yummy!

  3. Chris says:

    Hmm. Think how interesting it would look with red and blue corn chips!

  4. jill says:

    YUM! Corn Torts are my favorite snack food.

  5. Lynn in Tucson says:

    “Mexican Matzoh Brei.” Love it! Here we call those chilaquiles!

  6. Cookie says:

    You lost me at cilantro.

Leave a Reply

