You did WHAT?

I had a busy afternoon yesterday in the garden. At this time of year, I’m starting to plant my annuals. By now, the tulip leaves have usually pretty much died down, but the daffodil leaves are still green and straggly. Not only is it a mess, but it covers up the spots where I want to plant the annuals:

Messy daffodil leaves

So what’s a girl to do? I don’t want to cut down the leaves, since the bulbs need the photosynthesis from the leaves to build up strength for blooming next year. Instead, I get all Martha Stewart-y with them.

Braided daffodil leaves

Yes, I really did braid the daffodil leaves. Now someone is REALLY going to hate me.

A word of warning, though. This is NOT a recommended way to deal with your daffodil leaves. Most gardening sites say that braiding (or folding and tying) the leaves inhibits the photosynthesis, and that they won’t bloom well the next year – you need to just leave them alone. But I’ve been doing this for years, and it doesn’t seem to have been a problem.

I only do this for the daffodils that aren’t hidden by other plants. Most of them are planted where other perennials or annuals will hide the fading leaves, and I can just let them flop and fade away in their own time. Daylilies are a particularly good camouflage.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You did WHAT?

  1. Chris says:

    Well. Learn something new every day!

  2. Cookie says:

    Wonderful fix to annoying problem.

  3. Kitten says:

    Lol. Daffodils don’t grow here anyway.

  4. jill says:

    That is definitely happening in my front bed! I’ve got annuals sitting around waiting, humming the tune from Jeopardy. They go in this week!.

  5. zeneedle says:

    You really did braid the leaves! They look quite elegant.

  6. Susan says:

    I think I am going try that on my morning glory. 😉

  7. Laurie says:

    Good post title. Exactly what I was thinking. It is the wrap after the braid that got me.

Leave a Reply

