WIPs

So…. Color Affection has been finished, but I’ve been hoping to get some modeled shots before doing a post on it. Plus I think I need a little time to gather my thoughts on it.

But in the meantime, Stripe Study is moving along nicely. I think I’ll really like the results in linen.

Stripe Study

I’m also working away on Progression, but it’s not a very portable project, so I don’t get the chance to work on it as often. The rows are long and slow now, especially since I’m in the nupp section.

And of course, there’s the socks. I’m working on the heel flap of the first sock now. That gets even less time, since I just carry it around in my purse for whenever I have some waiting time somewhere.

The Sky Scarf is nearing the halfway point! Only a little more than a week, and I’ll be able to start the decreases.

But wait, there’s more! I was visiting my mother a couple of weeks ago, and she handed me a copy of this magazine, and asked if I would make the cover sweater for her. In black. She said she’d pay me for it. Then came the real kicker. She said I could have it after she passes away. (Oh gee, there’s a great incentive.) I told her that yes, I’d make it for her, and no, she couldn’t pay me for it. And that I hoped she wasn’t in a hurry to pass it on to me. We talked about yarn choices, and I looked at a few options. As it turned out, the yarn it calls for (Tahki Coast, a 55% wool, 45% cotton blend) happened to be on clearance at Webs, and they had it in black. I ordered it and have it in hand, so I’ll be starting on it soon. The biggest challenge will be figuring out how long to make it. Since my mother is in a wheelchair, I probably don’t want to make it as long as I would otherwise. I guess I’ll take a few of my cardigans over there and we can see what works.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to WIPs

  1. Chris says:

    Yay! A black project! 😀

  2. Bonny says:

    I love how you’ve got lots of great projects in different knitting stages – knitting for every situation! I’ll also be interested in reading your Color Affection thoughts. Your project “tight edge so it fits right when worn” notes are the first I’ve run across, and making me seriously rethink my in-progress Color Affection with dropped yo’s!

  3. zeneedle says:

    So, what color are you going to use for all the horrible smoky days when your eyes hurt, your nose is stuffed and you can’t see the sky? Anyway, It’s not easy to gather thoughts on Color Affection. I’m still struggling with what to say, what I would do differently or wish I’d done. In the end both CA, yours and mine, are lovely and wearable. That’s the bottom line, eh?

  4. vicki says:

    My mother used to say that “when I pass away” line a lot… all the time… and so she shouldn’t have been so surprised when my 8yo asked if she could have something “when you pass away”!

  5. Lots of fun projects on the needles! I’m anxious to see your Color Affection.

    Moms says the darnest things. 😛

  6. Kitten says:

    OMG, tell her you’re going to bury her in it and it had better be oooooollllddddd and worn thin by then.

  7. Cookie says:

    You’re knitting socks? What?!?!

    At least, this is the right time of year for knitting with black yarn. You’re such a good daughter.

Leave a Reply

