More Affection

Thanks for all the nice comments on my Color Affection.

I must have sounded a lot more disappointed in it than I am – I don’t dislike it, and I think it’s a nice pattern.

I admit that it isn’t my favorite FO, but that’s mostly because I find the color difficult to pair anything with (and no, I won’t be going out to buy new clothes just to wear with it). I was also surprised that it turned out smaller than I expected, but that’s not a big deal – it’s large enough.

But as long as I’m talking about the yarn, I find myself with roughly 300 yards of the dark yarn and 500 yards of the light yarn left over. Not quite enough to make another Color Affection in the reverse colors, but still a reasonable amount for some project (Stripe Study?), or even multiple projects. I was thinking about making stranded mittens or gloves, but I’d have the same problem with it not really going with anything in my wardrobe.

If anyone thinks the colors would be better suited to them, and would like the yarn, I’d be happy to give it away. All I’d ask for is shipping costs if I have to mail it.

The labels say: “Bliss Ranch Yarns by JaggerSpun 3/8-sport weight-approx 1490 yds per lb. 100% Medium grade wool, 54s (not moth proofed)”. The lighter color is “Hickory”, and the darker color is “Brindle”. This is definitely not a soft wool. It’s not as scratchy as Shetland – I think it seems pretty similar to Reynolds Whiskey in feel.

There’s a green cast to both colors, but the darker one is definitely greenish brown, or brownish green, depending on the light.

Bliss Ranch Yarn Bliss Ranch Yarn

If anyone’s interested in it, just give me a holler.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Affection

  1. Lynn in Tucson says:

    Well, heck. I’d take it off your hands!

  2. Lynn in Tucson says:

    (What about overdyeing your Color Affection?)

  3. Rachel says:

    This amount is perfect for Different Lines!
    Your issues with the color reminds me of my UFO Different Lines – I bought the yarn from the Green Mountain Spinnery a few years ago and was convinced it is shades of gray until I decided to bring it out and knit it. It is definitely shades of browns – not in my color space at all – I think the FO is going to be gifted to some person with brown space! 🙂

  4. Carrie#K says:

    Why won’t you buy it an outfit? It’s going to feel unloved. Poor, poor Color Affection. 😉

  5. Gwen A says:

    I was going to say I’d be delighted to take the yarn off your hands and love it and squeeze it and name it George (both of ’em collectively) but it looks like Lynn beat me to the punch. If she changes her mind, the offer still stands! 🙂

  6. Cookie says:

    I think those colors would be great for when the girls go on safari. ;^)

Leave a Reply

