FO: Progression Shawl

I wasn’t able to participate in Susan Lawrence‘s “Summer of Intrigue” mystery KAL last year, but I certainly bugged her to write up the pattern after it was over, and I saw how lovely it was. So as soon as she published the pattern (now called “Progression“, I was off to get the yarn to start it.

It wasn’t a fast knit, since I only worked on it when I was at home watching movies on TV, but it still held my interest, with all of the different stitch patterns.

Progression shawl

The pattern is designed to start out simply, with written instructions, and then progressively get more complex, ending with a knitted-on border with patterning on both sides, which is worked exclusively from a chart.

I didn’t care about any of that… just that it was lovely, and I wanted to do a semi-circular shawl.

It was a mystery object for those who participated in the class, but for me, the only mystery has been how I managed to knit it with much less yardage than Susan. I thought maybe I had made a mistake and missed a repeat somewhere, but she looked at it herself and couldn’t see a problem. This must be the first time in history I’ve knit something at a tighter gauge than she did. (And I did double-check my needle size.) o.O

Progression Shawl

I also didn’t block it quite as aggressively as she did hers, so between the tighter tension and lighter blocking, mine turned out smaller than hers, but the size works well, so it’s not a problem. And bonus! Since I bought extra yarn in case I used more than she did, I now have enough of the yarn left over for another shawl.

Pattern: Progression, by Susan Lawrence
Yarn: Jaggerspun Zephyr, in Cinnabar
Needles: US 6/4mm and US 5/3.75mm

I really like the half-circle shape, and I especially love the border.

I tried a new technique with the nupps, which worked out quite well. Instead of a single YO, I used double YOs, and then dropped the extra YO on the reverse side before purling all of the stitches together. It made the loops nice and loose.

Ravelry project here.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to FO: Progression Shawl

  1. Chris says:

    Yet another gorgeous project. 🙂

  2. Cookie says:

    It’s wonderful! You and that Susan make a wonderful team!

  3. Susan says:

    Wow! That is so beautiful! I want to make it but considering the trouble I had with the “easy as pie” shall I might hold off a bit. 😉

  4. zeneedle says:

    Super elegant and beautifully knit! Progression is one of the best lace shawl patterns around and yours is especially lovely.

  5. Marilyn says:

    That is gorgeous!

  6. vicki says:

    Very pretty, Cheryl!

  7. Rachel says:

    Most beautiful!

  8. jill says:

    Lovely, lovely!

Leave a Reply

