The Mom Cardigan update

The Cool Breeze Cardigan for my mother is trudging along at a slow but steady pace. (As you may recall, this is the one she asked me to knit for her, and said I could have it after she dies.) I started the body using a provisional cast-on, so I could go back and adjust the length of the body and sleeves when I do a final fitting on her.

The body is done except for the length issue, and then adding the bottom ribbing and front bands. One sleeve is done except for length adjustments and the cuff. After I get the second sleeve done to the same length, we’ll do the fitting and then I’ll be able to finish it up.

Because I wasn’t sure about the sleeve length, I decided to knit the set-in sleeves top-down (as separate pieces), rather than bottom-up. I’ve done sleeves this way a few times, and it has worked out well for me.

Instead of working from cuff to sleeve cap, I cast on the number of stitches that would be bound off at the top of the sleeve cap. Then to shape the cap, I follow the pattern in reverse, casting on stitches at each end instead of binding off, or increasing instead of decreasing. When the cap is finished, I either continue working flat, or join it in the round, depending on the pattern and my mood. I’ll usually set in the sleeve after I get an inch or two past the sleeve cap, so that I can adjust as needed for width and length.

Cool Breeze Cardigan

The challenge with this pattern was the lace panel on the sleeves. You can’t necessarily just flip a lace chart upside down and have it look the same as it would right-side up. I had to  tweak the lace pattern a bit to make it look as close as possible to the original pattern. I think it worked out fine, though.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Mom Cardigan update

  1. Kitten says:

    Looks like a fine match on the lace panel, to me! Out of curiosity, why did you do them separate, top down, instead of knitting them top down right into the armscye?

    • Cheryl says:

      I’ve done it that way, but I don’t think the short rows always look all that great (at least, not when I’ve done them), and I would also have to keep track of the lace panel in addition to the short rows. Also, since this isn’t for me and I haven’t been able to try it on her yet, if there is a problem with the body and I want to redo it (or part of it, like just the fronts) I can just unseam them and reseam them into the adjusted body. If they’re knit in place, I can’t do that.

  2. Cookie says:

    You are SO GOOD.

  3. (Not That) Joan says:

    Clever stuff!

  4. jill says:

    Damn Woman! You are scary smart! It is beautiful, truly.

  5. zeneedle says:

    She’ll be so pleased and you’ll be on the home stretch in no time! Very nicely done.

  6. Chris says:

    You are so good at that tricksy knitter math. 🙂

  7. redsilvia says:

    You are a clever girl! Don’t you love those parental “when I’m gone” things….argh!

  8. Heather N says:

    Smartie! It looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

