Veggies On Parade

The garden harvest is plentiful at this time of year, as we hurry to pick what we can before the frosts set in.

Tonight’s delicious dinner was based on Vicki’s “deconstructed” Eggplant Parmesan and Roasted Tomato Sauce.

Deconstructed Eggplant Parmesan

I picked an armload of eggplants this morning, and since I had already made a big batch of the Roasted Tomato Sauce earlier this year and frozen it, I decided to try baking the eggplant the way she did.

I also made some fresh cheese today with my homemade kefir, which comes out very similar to ricotta in taste and texture.

For the Eggplant Parmesan, I took the baked eggplant slices, topped them with the kefir cheese, ladled on some of the roasted tomato sauce, then sprinkled grated Parmesan on the top. It came out great – so easy to throw together, and very delicious. Although I made everything from scratch, you could certainly just use some jarred marinara sauce instead, with some ricotta cheese, queso fresco, or mozzarella instead of the homemade cheese I used.

The cooked green beans (from Margene‘s garden) were dressed with a mixture of half olive oil and half lemon juice, with a sprinkling of salt. Very simple.

The Pontiff gave it two thumbs up. Whew.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Veggies On Parade

  1. kitten says:

    I don’t love eggplant but the rest of it sounds really really good.

  2. Carole says:

    A friend gave me several eggplant yesterday, your timing on this is perfect!

  3. zeneedle says:

    Smith spent the day harvesting much of our garden. We just made a pot of delicious tomato sauce, may our last of the year. It would be perfect for eggplant parmesan as it has some kick, too. Wish we had even more broccoli and beans to share! It’s been a great garden year. Life Vicki said…you’re a rock star to have made your own cheese!

  4. jill says:

    Yowza!! You made your cheese? I honestly continue to be surprised and amazed by your talents.

  5. Chris says:

    What Jill said. 🙂

  6. Kym says:

    Now THAT looks YUM! And cheese, too? Oh, Cheryl!

  7. Cookie says:

    You are so good!

  8. Carrie#K says:

    I do love eggplant and that looks delicious. Also why, why, why did I catch up on your blog when I was starving, my client was sitting in my office talking to her bank and you have so many delicious looking entrees? Why? Interesting about the microwave poached eggs though…..might have to try that. Although I do have a fancy-dancy poacher. For eight. Possibly a dozen.

Leave a Reply

