FO: Cool Breeze Cardigan

I got my mother’s cardigan finished, just in time for some lovely fall weather.

Cool Breeze Cardigan

I’ll take it over to her this weekend, and see how it fits. I may have to lengthen the sleeves slightly, but that shouldn’t be a problem since I knit them top-down. I left them slightly short, thinking that they would probably grow a bit after washing, but they really didn’t. However, her arms are shorter than mine, and she wasn’t really sure how long she wanted them anyway – I think she might be happy with the length.

Pattern: Cool Breeze Cardigan by Amy Polcyn
Yarn: Tahki Yarns Coast (55% wool, 45% cotton), color 007 “Night Watch”, 7 skeins
Needles: US 7/4.5mm

Modifications: Knit the sleeves top-down so that I could adjust the length as needed. Had to invert the lace chart and slightly modify it slightly for knitting upside down. Did not do any waist shaping. More details on my Ravelry project.

I liked the yarn, which is what the pattern called for (in a different colorway), but it looks like it may have been discontinued. Too bad – it seems to be a nice wool/cotton blend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to FO: Cool Breeze Cardigan

  1. Carole says:

    That looks great, Cheryl!

  2. Stacey says:

    Another win for sure! Don’t you hate when they discontinue a good yarn?

  3. I’m sure she will LOVE it – it looks wonderful. I really like the sleeve lace detail too.

  4. margene says:

    Your mom is going to love it!!!

  5. Chris says:

    If she doesn’t love it, it looks great on you! 🙂

  6. Monica says:

    It’s beautiful! I’m sure your Mom will love it.

  7. Susan says:

    Very nice!

  8. Suzy says:

    Pretty! Will Mom let you take a photo of her wearing it?

  9. Cookie says:

    Fabulous!

    Nice cardi, too. Btw, guess what I frogged yesterday…

  10. Kym says:

    It turned out beautifully — and will look gorgeous on your beautiful mom!

  11. Heather says:

    It turned out great, I think. I bet she wears it every day.

  12. jill says:

    A lovely finished project. Your mom is a lucky woman!

Leave a Reply

