Ups and Downs

For all the knitting I’ve done on it, the Phyllo Yoked Sweater should have been done by now. (Looks kinda cute as a short-sleeved top, doesn’t it? I think I might have to make another one of these for summer.)

Phyllo Yoked Sweater

After knitting the yoke, I picked up the stitches and worked down to the hem, doing some waist shaping on the front and back sections a quarter of the way in from each side (like Princess seams). It looked great from the front, but there was too much fabric across the back, and it sort of ballooned out above the waist shaping, making me look a bit like the Hunchback of Notre Dame. Part of the problem was the yoke being a little too large, and part was that I had done 6 sets of short rows to mimic the shaping in the pattern instructions, and it was too much. I realized I was never going to be happy with it the way it was.

One solution would have been to start over completely, reducing the yoke by one repeat of the stitch pattern. I wasn’t too crazy about that idea, so instead I just ripped out the entire body back to the provisional cast-on of the yoke, and restarted it. On the first round, I decreased 6 stitches across the back by doing a k2tog at each bottom point of the diamonds in the stitch pattern. Then I only did 4 sets of short rows. Rather than making it as fitted as I did the first time, I just 3 sets of decreases on the front only, between the bust and the waist (working them the same way I did the first time, like Princess seams). That made the stitch count for the front and back the same by the time I got to the waist, and I just worked straight down from there with no additional shaping.

The slightly looser fit worked much better with the pattern. But I still wasn’t done with the reknitting. After knitting and trying it on every inch or so, I finally decided that I just needed one more inch of length. But after that last inch, it seemed too long, so I ripped it back out an inch and knitted the hem. I decided on making a turned hem with a picot edge. After finishing the whole thing and hemming up the last row of live stitches, I tried it on again, only to decide that it was TOO SHORT. Huh? How did that happen? Not only that, but I decided it would look better even longer than I’d planned in the first place, so I wanted to add 2″. Blech. I unpicked the hem seam, ripped it back to my turning rows, and knit another 2″. I wasn’t sure I liked the picot edge, so this time I just worked two purl rounds as a turning ridge, then another inch in stockinette for the hem facing. Rather than hemming up the live stitches, I cast off loosely. Then I tried it on again. Can you guess what’s coming? Now it seemed TOO LONG. Sigh. And adding to the length issue, it turned out that I really liked the way the hem facing rolled up to the garter ridges that were supposed to be turning ridges. Normally I don’t like rolled hems (which is what the pattern calls for), but the garter ridges stopped the hem from curling too much, and it sort of just looked like some reverse stockinette welts at the bottom hem.

So what to do? I decided to just wait and decide on the hem later, after the sleeves are done and sweater has been blocked. I did want it to be kind of a long sweater, so as long as it doesn’t grow too much in the blocking, it will be fine. And if it’s not, then I’ll just rip the hem back and make it an inch shorter. Which means, of course, that I’d be making it the same length I did in the first place.

Oh well. A snowy weekend is a good excuse for doing a lot of knitting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ups and Downs

  1. kitten says:

    Reading that made me tired. But yeah, you need one of those for summer.

  2. Cookie says:

    You really need one of those for summer.

    I’m sorry there’s some drama with the pattern. I’m starting to think that’s part of knitting sweaters, but what do I know? I’m getting ready to re-do the bottom of my sweater. Yes, again.

    • Cheryl says:

      I just finished ripping out half the sleeve. I can’t blame the drama on the pattern, since I haven’t followed it other than the yoke. This is why I’m not actually fond of the “top down, try it on as you go” method. You have to knit several inches past a spot before you can really see how it fits that area. So if it’s wrong, it’s a lot of ripping.

  3. Carole says:

    It’s all just too much for me to comprehend. I have a hard time altering patterns and getting them to fit the way I want. That’s probably why I don’t knit very many sweaters!

  4. zeneedle says:

    You’ll make it work, no matter what it takes. You always do.

  5. Laurie says:

    Oh good god. I would have tossed it in the bag for a time out for a bit.

  6. jill says:

    You have a kind of patience I can only inspire to have some day – maybe in my next life. Wow.

  7. Chris says:

    At my place, this project would be living in the corner of the room where it had been thrown in frustration. 🙂

Leave a Reply

