Squooshy Rikke

I haz a new hat!

Rikke Hat

It’s the Rikke Hat, knit from some of Cookie‘s “crap handspun”. Or so she says. I think it’s lovely. It has some shiny stuff in it, which makes it a bit scratchy to the touch, but when knit into squishy garter stitch at a fairly loose gauge, it softens up and is perfectly fine for a hat.

I love the colors in the yarn – pinky/purples and grays. It makes me think of heather on the moors.

Since I have a tiny head, I pretty much followed the modifications that Susan made when she used heavier yarn than the pattern called for, by casting on fewer stitches and not knitting the hat quite as long. Details on my project page.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Squooshy Rikke

  1. margene says:

    Fabulous!! The style looks great on you!
    Hope you’re feeling a bit better.

  2. Monica says:

    I LOVE it! And it looks fantastic on you!

  3. Cookie says:

    It is fabulous and so are you. I’m so happy you like it.

  4. Carole says:

    I love it and it will be cozy and warm for you!

  5. Chris says:

    Looks very squooshy and comfortable!

  6. kitten says:

    Cute! You could always line it with something.

    • Cheryl says:

      I thought about making a hat with a lining when I first started it, but in the garter stitch, it’s not that bad. Plus, I ended up picking a hat design that I’ll usually wear with it just on my hair, not on my forehead.

  7. Susan says:

    What it cute hat and it looks great on you!

  8. jill says:

    Smashing!

  9. Stacey says:

    Her yarn is definately not crap. I can agree with you on that. The hat is adorable on you! I love floppy hats!

  10. Carrie#K says:

    So cute! Don’t wear it out in a windstorm.

    I know, she whinges about her spinning but I was frogging and reknitting my Crown Prince from the Cupcake fiber she spun for me and it held up *beautifully*.

Leave a Reply

