Winterberries

I started a grand new pullover experiment with some lovely 100% Cormo yarn in the Winterberries colorway I bought from Anne before she moved away to New Mexico. (Don’t be looking for it in the Wooly Wonka shop, ’cause you won’t find it, though there’s plenty of other lovely stuff to look at.)

Anyhoo… I never used Cormo before, but I figured I’d want to make use of it’s softness in a pullover, rather than a cardigan.

It’s been aging in my stash as I’ve waited for the right pattern or inspiration to come along, and finally it did. I’ve had my eye on this pullover pattern for a while, and figured that it would probably work well for the yarn. The yarn is a bit more variegated than a semi-solid, but it’s still pretty monochromatic. I thought that something with a texture stitch would be a good choice.

I swatched for the pattern stitch on the bodice, and although I really liked it, I decided it wasn’t right for the yarn. It’s like a trinity or bramble stitch (but made with 5 stitches instead of 3 – is there a name for that?). It looked beautiful, but it was too lacy for what I was interested in. So instead, I’m going to use a slip-stitch pattern from one of my stitch dictionaries.

Winterberry pullover swatch

My original thought was to do the sweater in reverse-stockinette, rather than stockinette. (The swatch shows garter stitch on the bottom, the slip-stitch pattern in the center, and reverse stockinette on top.) But I’ve changed my mind, and I think I’ll go with the stockinette side as the right side.

Winterberry Pullover

The pattern has a mock-turtleneck of 1×1 rib. I’m not too sure about that, so I might change it. But I’ll worry about that part when I get to it. In the meantime, I’ll just have some nice, mindless stockinette to knit.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Winterberries

  1. margene says:

    Well, the good ol’ stockinette looks marvelous!

  2. Carrie#K says:

    Until you try it on and want it shorter/longer. πŸ˜‰ It looks like a really interesting design, the slip st pattern should be perfect for it.

  3. Lynn in Tucson says:

    So what of the pattern are you keeping, exactly? Are you going to knit it in the original Japanese, just to have a challenge?

    πŸ˜‰

    That color is marvelous!

  4. Chris says:

    It does make a lovely stockinette. Hmm. Trying to remember the pullover I knitted as my Olympic sweater back in 2006 – it was a wonderfully cushy thing, until a laundry mishap… A good pattern, that was.

  5. Cookie says:

    Love the fiber and love that color! Hurry up and show us the finished sweater! :p

  6. Kym says:

    I love to follow along when you dabble in sweaters! The yarn is just lovely — can’t wait to see what you do!

  7. jill says:

    What a wonderful color to spend time knitting.

Leave a Reply

