Christmas is Coming

I haven’t made Christmas cookies for years. But this year I got the bug.

When I was little, my mother would spend days making Christmas cookies, one or two kinds at a time. Each batch would go in a layer in her giant Tupperware container, and into the freezer. I loved helping to make the cookies. At Christmas she would unpack them and make plates with all of the assorted cookies on them, then they’d be sent out to family and friends.

One of the things I bought when I was first on my own was that same big Tupperware container. At the moment it is in the freezer, filled with a lovely assortment:

Chocolate Crinkles Chocolate Crinkles, my favorite of them all.
Frosty Date BAlls Frosty Date Balls. Stop snickering. My mother and I now call these “tulip bulb cookies”, after an unfortunate incident involving a bad oven thermostat.
Coconut Diamonds Coconut Diamonds. Another of my favorites. I should make these more often.
Great Scots Great Scots. I liked these a lot as a kid, but now I find them a bit too sweet. Accidentally putting in too many butterscotch chips didn’t help.
Sugar Cookies Sugar Cookies. For these, I used Larry’s mother’s recipe. He’s happy.

Of course, my mother made many others. Thumbprint (Bird’s nest) cookies, Peanut Butter Blossoms, Spritz cookies (I loved helping decorate these), pinwheels and candy cane cookies were always part of the assortment. I think she made some kind of crescent-shaped cookies covered with powdered sugar, too. There were probably others that I don’t remember. Most of the recipes came from (of course), the Betty Crocker Cookie cookbook.

This year I’ll be surprising my mother with a plate of assorted cookies on Christmas Eve.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Christmas is Coming

  1. kitten says:

    Lovely! I just remembered I was given a cookie press last year for Christmas. I think I know what the boys and I will be doing on Sunday afternoon… I’m going to try those chocolate ones too, though I’ll use the recipe Lynn posted to facebook and add some mint!

  2. Monica says:

    I thought of you today while baking thumb prints with Olivia. All of them are covered in finely chopped pecans, and half have chocolate centers and half strawberry jam. Yum.

  3. Carole says:

    Cookie baking was a tradition for my mom, too, and a big part of the reason I do it is for the memories I have of baking cookies with her.

  4. Stacey says:

    For a second, I thought those coconut things were baclava. My mom always made baclava for Christmas. What a great trip down memory lane.

  5. zeneedle says:

    Smith is very happy. Many of my childhood memories are of baking cookies with my mom.

  6. Chris says:

    I love candy cane cookies. Of course, we got lazy and just made plain old round cookies with the peppermint and sugar sprinkled on top. Only time I actually like peppermint – I think it’s the interesting interaction between it and the almond extract in the recipe our family uses.

  7. Cookie says:

    The date balls look nothing like I expected. Isn’t it amazing the memories that return with the holiday cookies? Or, in my case, just the talking about the baking…

  8. Lynn in Tucson says:

    I stopped in at one of our Arab grocery stores and bought a BRICK of dates for baking. Unfortunately, it’s at home and I’m here…frosty date balls will have to wait! Merry Christmas!

  9. jill says:

    Oh, those coconut diamonds look beyond amazing. We’ve not baked this year. I may need to modify these for gf needs and name them New Year’s Diamonds!

Leave a Reply

