FO: Winterberry pullover

I finished knitting this on December 31st, but didn’t get it seamed until January 1st, at my knitting group. So instead of being my last finished object of 2012, it’s my first for 2013.

I really like how it turned out. The Cormo yarn is wonderfully soft, and since it’s sport-weight, it will be comfortable to wear.

Winterberry pullover

Pattern: 210-211-22 Pullover, by Pierrot. Direct link to PDF in English here.
Yarn: Cormo, by Wooly Wonka Fibers
Needles: US 3/3.25mm, US 1.5/2.5mm, US 1/2.25mm
Ravelry: Project page, pattern page.

Modifications:

The pattern calls for two laceweight mohair yarns held together, and is knit on 4.5mm needles. I was using a single strand of wool in sport-weight yarn, using 3.25mm needles. My stitch gauge wasn’t really off all that much, so I cast on using the same numbers, but since my row gauge was much tighter, so needed to go by length measurements rather than number of rows.

The stitch pattern specified in the pattern looked beautiful, but was a little too lacy for this yarn, so I substituted a slip-stitch pattern instead.

I made shorter sleeves, because I like them best when they’re 3/4 or bracelet-length.

Instead of working plain 1×1 ribbing for the edgings, I started with a purl ridge, an eyelet row, then another purl ridge. Then I knit the ribbing using twisted 1×1 rib. I really like how it turned out at the neckline, but I’m not sure I’d do the eyelet detail on the cuffs and hem again, since the fabric wants to curl a bit at the eyelet rows.

I really liked the pattern, and would like to make it again some day, using the double strands of yarn and the specified stitch pattern.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to FO: Winterberry pullover

  1. kitten says:

    You knit ALL the pretty things…

  2. Carrie#K says:

    So pretty! I like the modified edgings.

  3. Carole says:

    I think it looks great and you really do so well knitting sweaters that fit you perfectly. I don’t like knitting with 2 strands held together so your use of sportweight seems like a good change to me.

  4. Lauren says:

    This looks great! Nice pick.

  5. joan says:

    Beautiful!

  6. zeneedle says:

    You always know just what to do to make a pattern/yarn combo work for you. The fit is perfect! The color looks fabulous on you, too. Nicely done, all around!

  7. Cookie says:

    You did it again! It’s wonderful. The color is beautiful and I love how you made it your own. Looking forward to watching you revisit this pattern with the suggested yarn and now’s the time to order from Japan.

  8. Susan says:

    Lovely!

  9. Chris says:

    It looks really cozy. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Cookie Made Me Do It | CabledSheep

Leave a Reply

