Revolution Rolls – Update

I’ve made these rolls several times now, and decided to try a few new things. The results were not so great. I’ve updated my previous post, but will go into more detail here.

Since I had some cottage cheese on hand, I thought I’d make them with that instead of the light cream cheese I had been using. (The “Oopsie Roll” variation.) I really didn’t like the results very well.

First of all, the cottage cheese didn’t blend well at all, even with an electric hand mixer. But mostly, I didn’t like the taste/texture of the rolls as well. They seemed much more spongy and eggy-tasting, like egg souffles (which of course, is basically what they are), rather than bready. Although part of that may have been that they weren’t baked as long as they should have been (more on that later), I think a lot of it had to do with the amount of cheese.

I think if you want to use cottage cheese, you should either use “dry” cottage cheese (hard to find – all I’ve seen for years is the creamed stuff), or drain it well and measure out the desired amount of the drained curds. Otherwise, you’re not really getting as much actual cheese, since some of the measurement is taken up by the creamy stuff.

Also, the Oopsie rolls call for 3 ounces* of cream cheese, which is more actual cheese than 3 tablespoons of cottage cheese. I think the additional cheese makes a big difference in the taste and texture. If I had to use cottage cheese again, I’d probably use 1/4 cup.

*Important note: many people seem to confuse ounces (by weight) and ounces (by volume). Although a tablespoon is 1/2 ounce by volume, that doesn’t mean that a tablespoon of something weighs 1/2 ounce – for example, a tablespoon of feathers is not going to weigh the same as a tablespoon of buckshot. Cottage cheese and cream cheese are sold in ounces by weight, and you can’t just use the same number of ounces by volume.

Additionally, I tried baking them in muffin rings to make them a nice, even size. Some people use Wilton mini cake pans for the same purpose. This was a total failure. Even though I sprayed the rings really well with cooking spray, the rolls stuck to them like glue. I had to run a sharp knife around the inside of the rings to loosen them, which left a lot still stuck on the rings.

Here they are before baking:
Revolution Rolls

And after baking – you can see that aside from the sticking problem, some of the egg mixture flowed out under the bottom of the rings during the baking process:

Revolution Rolls

On top of that, I think the rings kept the rolls from cooking as thoroughly in the same amount of time as I’d been using without the rings, and I probably should have baked them longer. That made the spongy/eggy texture problem even worse since they were a little underbaked.

In the future, I’ll stick with just plopping mounds onto parchment paper.

The original Atkins recipe called for baking them for 60 minutes, but I’ve seen a lot of versions on the Internet where people are baking them for as little as 30 minutes. I think they really need to be baked long enough to dry them out enough that they lose the omelet/souffle texture, so I recommend at least 40-45 minutes, but you’ll have to experiment with your own oven and taste. I think next time I make them, I’ll take some out at 45 minutes, and leave the rest in for the full 60 minutes to see how they come out.

One other thing I’ve tried is making them with and without the packet of artificial sweetener (I used Splenda). Normally, I do not use artificial sweeteners, and try to avoid products containing them. But I will admit that I like the flavor of the Revolution rolls a little better with the sweetener than without. It seems to counteract the egg flavor a little bit, and make the rolls taste more like commercial white bread, so I’ll probably continue using it.

You can also see that I’ve sprinkled sesame seeds on top of the rolls before baking. Yum. I will continue to experiment with other flavor add-ins.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Revolution Rolls – Update

  1. Pingback: Revolutionary | CabledSheep

  2. kitten says:

    Why not straight up sugar, or another natural sweetener?

    • Cheryl says:

      You could use sugar or something else, but then they might not be low-carb, depending on what you use. Depends on why you’d make them in the first place – because they’re low-carb, or because they’re gluten-free.

  3. Cookie says:

    I’m with Kitten!

    Also? Thank goodness for parchment paper!

  4. Caroline aka FiberTribe says:

    I wonder if Stevia would work? Or Truvia? They still look yummy. thanks for the update.
    btw, Trader Joe’s has pure stevia powder under their own label for $9.99. Cheap!

Leave a Reply

