FO: Noro Entrelac Scarf

Noro Entrelac Scarf

Pattern: Entrelac Scarf, by Allison LoCicero
Yarn: Noro Silk Garden, colorway 319, 7 skeins
Needles: US 9/5.5mm
Ravelry project: here

The colors look a little more vibrant on the screen than they are in real life. I toned down the saturation a bit, but it’s still a little too bright.

I really wanted a colorway of either Silk Garden or Kureyon that was mostly blacks and grays with just a few pops of color, but it seems that Noro has pretty much gone to either very bright colors, or all neutral with no bits of color. The color I ended up getting (319) is a little brighter than I’d like, but I did like the purple and green combination. I suppose I could have cut out some of the brighter colors for a more subtle look, but I’d have needed a lot more yarn.

This is my first entrelac project, and one of the reasons I wanted to do it was to learn how to knit backwards. It was pretty awkward at first, but it didn’t take too long to get the hang of it. That’s definitely the way to go with entrelac – not having to turn the piece around every few stitches makes it go much more quickly.

Project notes:

Used a larger needle size, so that the scarf would be softer, with more drape. I started with a crochet cast-on so that my cast-on would match my bind-off. I’m really happy with how that came out. Also, I kept my first and last stitches in stockinette instead of garter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to FO: Noro Entrelac Scarf

  1. Chris says:

    It looks great!

  2. zeneedle says:

    The colors are very similar to your header. On my computer it looks much as it does in life. Love the way it looks all warm and cozy! Good work in all aspects!! It’s beautiful!!

  3. Marilyn says:

    It’s perfect!
    Knit backwards?? YouTube here I come…

  4. vicki says:

    Lovely! I’ve tried knitting backwards but have not mastered it… should practice. Have knit an entrelac scarf, turning every few stitches…

  5. Monica says:

    Very pretty! I’ve never learned how to knit backwards. I’ll have to do that someday.

  6. Lynn in Tucson says:

    Ooooh…I love it!

  7. Stacey says:

    I love the pops of color! That was how I learned to knit backwards. I still have to you tube it to start again since I don’t use it that often. It’s great for short row shaping.

  8. kitten says:

    So pretty! That colorway of greens and purples would be right up Lynn’s alley.

  9. Sandy says:

    So very pretty! I’ve just learned how to knit backwards, too. Talk about life changing…anyway, you did a super job on this project! P.S. LOVE your blog!!!!

  10. Heather says:

    It’s really neat. On my screen, it does not look too bright.

  11. Pingback: Embarassing Photos | CabledSheep

  12. jill says:

    Fabulous! I have one in progress -actually it’s been in progress for a very long time. I selected a heavier weight yarn and need to accept it will be a reader’s afghan. Yours is magnificent!

  13. Pingback: Super Mega Update Knitting Post « TangognaT

Leave a Reply

