Low Hanging Fruit

The Serviceberries (also known as Saskatoon berries, especially in Canada) are heavy on my tree, despite having picked a couple of quarts already over the past few days. Looks like I need to get picking again! So much fruit for such a small tree.

Serviceberries

I picked another two quarts today after taking this photo, and there’s still plenty of not-quite-ripe berries left.

What have I been doing with them?

First I made an apple/berry crisp, without using any particular recipe. I just sliced apples and added berries to make a quart, added a sprinkling of sugar, and topped it with some crisp topping I had in the freezer that was left over from some other recipe and threw it in the oven. Easy peasy!

I had a lot of recipes that I wanted to try out, so I actually ended up making two in the same day – these Berry, Almond and Orange Scones, which were good (oddly enough, they were better the next day reheated in the toaster oven, which is not usually the case with scones):

Berry, Almond and Orange scones

We liked them, but if I made them again, I would not do the glaze and almond topping. Instead, I’d probably add the orange juice to the dough, decreasing the cream by the 2 Tbsp. (I did NOT add the almond extract, as I’m not fond of it, but otherwise I made the recipe as written.)

Next up was this delicious Saskatoon Berry Tart:

Saskatoon Tart

I didn’t have an 11″ tart pan, so I ended up using a 9″ springform, and then made a small tart in a ramekin with the excess dough and filling. This recipe was a real winner, and I’ll definitely make it again. Since I made it on the spur of the moment, I did not have any heavy cream, so I used sour cream instead. Yum. Might have to go shopping for an 11″ tart pan.

I still had some leftover berries, so I muddled them with some peppermint and made some flavored water. It was quite refreshing. I didn’t take a photo of that batch, but I’ve just started a new batch with sliced lemons and limes, plus some more serviceberries:

Flavored Water

In my new 2-quart mason jars. Because…

made-me

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Low Hanging Fruit

  1. margene says:

    The water must have been good if you used the berries again. Guess I’d better buy a mason jar and try a batch of my own flavor water.
    Your baked good look yummy!

  2. Chris says:

    Excellent post title. 🙂

  3. Cookie says:

    Oh wow. I miss baking…

    I’ve found that I need to use far less fruit than the water lady suggests. I’m not complaining. Just sayin’…

  4. jill says:

    It all looks and sounds wonderful. I’ve never had a service berry before. I wonder why not. I will have to Sussex them out.

  5. Heather says:

    That tart is just beautiful. Good idea with the flavored water.

  6. redsilvia says:

    Oh my, you’re making me hungry! I love tarts AND crisps so just YUM!

    Two ideas that popped into my head are the recipe over on Angry Chicken making frozen yogurt w/o an ice cream maker using frozen fruit and the fruit compote David Lebovitz made to accompany the lemon yogurt cake (which I just made and is cooling now…). But clearly you have no problems finding uses for your berries. A good problem to have.

  7. kitten says:

    Yum. I love fruit tarts.

Leave a Reply

