Kitchen Gadgets

I have way more kitchen gadgets and appliances than I need (or have room for), yet it’s hard to get rid of them. I really do use most of them, though there are probably a few things I could get rid of if I went through all of the drawers and cabinets (that’s on the list to do).

But that didn’t stop me from buying yet another one this week. It was an impulse buy, but it’s a winner. I think I shall put it in my “favorites” category. My favorites aren’t necessarily ones that I use all the time, but they’re so good at what they do that it’s worth having them.

Here are three of my current favorites:

Kitchen Gadgets

The new one is the Zyliss Corn Stripper (yellow-handled tool in the center) which I bought at my local grocery store for $7.99. I saw it at several grocery stores, so it must be widely-carried. (It was conveniently located right next to the fresh local corn in the store where I bought it.) I -LOVE- fresh local corn, but I really hate eating it off the cob because of how it sticks in my teeth. It’s always a bit scary to cut it off with a knife. This little gem works like a champ, without making me nervous.

The tool on the left is my Rösle garlic press. (Yikes! The price has skyrocketed on this – it was only $26 when I bought it.) It’s very heavy-duty stainless steel. I had purchased garlic presses before, but they never worked very well, and they were a pain to clean. I thought that’s just how they were. But no! With a GOOD garlic press like this one, you don’t even need to peel the cloves. Just pop that clove in the press and go. The papery peel stays behind in the press. (Of course, if you’re doing multiple cloves of garlic, you’ll have to remove the skins in between presses.)  It easily fits a huge clove or two small-to-medium cloves. As for cleaning, it’s not bad as long as you clean it right away. Just peel the garlic skin off the press plate (with your fingers, or a knife or fork), and wash it off. It’s dishwasher safe, but if you clean it before the garlic dries on it, it just takes a few seconds. I hardly ever cut garlic by hand any more, unless I want sliced garlic.

The gizmo on the right is my Tomato Shark. It’s about 35 years old (ahem), and I bought it from the restaurant I worked at, through their restaurant supply company. I don’t think this particular brand is made any more (it just says “Tomato Shark”, with an image of a shark and a patent number – you can see the logo on the handle if you enlarge the photo), but there are plenty of similar ones to be found. It’s awesome for coring tomatoes and strawberries, and it’s still very sharp after all these years of use.

What about you? What are some of your favorite kitchen gadgets?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kitchen Gadgets

  1. Carole says:

    Great idea for a post – I smell a Ten on Tuesday topic!

  2. margene says:

    A good knife and a good veggie peeler. If I ate corn the corn stripper would be a good one to have around!

  3. Chris says:

    I had to go look in my kitchen drawers! A good peeler, “locking” tongs with coated ends so they don’t scrape, and a metal spatula that has a sharp edge.

  4. susan says:

    Wine aerator!

  5. Heather says:

    I have an Oxo Good Grips garlic press that I really like, but I think my two favorite things are a mini offset spatula and a mini spatula from Pampered Chef. The short offset spatula is great for frosting things if you’re a klutz like me, and the wee spatula is great for serving brownies or whatever. It’s super handy. Also, handy to have something cheap to buy if you get invited to a Pampered Chef party.http://www.pamperedchef.com/our_products/catalog/product.jsp?productId=16763&categoryCode=KW

  6. Heather says:

    Oh, and I have a skimmer thing I love, it’s a sort of a circular mesh screen on a long handle, set at maybe a 40degree angle. Excellent for fishing things out of boiling water.

  7. jill says:

    I love my little strainer. I use it when I juice a lemon or infuse oil. Cutting boards are a favorite of mine as well. I have several in various sizes and probably use them three or four times a day. I chop garlic by hand; I think I know what Santa will be putting in my stocking this Christmas!

Leave a Reply

