Packing Tip

Having returned recently from a motorcycle trip to Oregon, I thought I’d share one of my favorite packing tips.

But first, some eye candy from the trip – Crater Lake.

Crater Lake, OR

Now for that tip.

This tip comes from “Her Motorcycle“, a website with great information on motorcycle apparel and gear for women, but I use this method now for all of my travel packing, whether it’s by motorcycle, car, or airplane.

Get some Hefty jumbo slider-lock plastic bags at the grocery store (2.5 gallon). Fill up a bag with folded clothes:

Jumbo Hefty bag with clothes

Put the bag on a chair, sit on it to compress the clothes and squoosh out the air, then zip it closed. This bag went from just under 4″ thick to just under 2″ thick.

Bag before squishing

Bag after squishing

This method works particularly well with fluffy clothing like sweaters or fleece. Much cheaper and easier than those specially-designed space saving bags.

I know a lot of people like to roll their clothes, which works fine with some clothing, like t-shirts. But I have trouble rolling bulkier items like pants and sweaters. Plus, I always seem to get a lot more wrinkles with the rolling method than with this method.

A bonus is that I can pack clothing that I’ll need for a particular day in one bag. For example, if I’m staying at a motel overnight on the way to a destination, I can put whatever clothes I need for that evening and the next day in one bag – that might include a swimsuit if I’m going someplace with a pool or spa. When I get to the motel, all I need to take out of the suitcase is just that one bag.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Packing Tip

  1. Marilyn says:

    Love it! I really like the “grab one bag and that’s all you need for the night” idea!

  2. Chris says:

    Oh, I hadn’t considered the “bag for the night” idea. Clever!

  3. kitten says:

    You get more brilliant every day.

  4. Carole says:

    That’s a great tip – especially the part about putting clothes for a particular day into one bag. Thank you!

  5. zeneedle says:

    Your so good at trip packing. I’m going to come to you for help if I ever get out of this place. Will you pack for me?

  6. Heather N says:

    Hmm, that is also a great way to sequester dirty clothes in the suitcase. Adding the huge ziplocks to my shopping list.

  7. jill says:

    Brilliant! And I have so say, your ruler rocks!

Leave a Reply

