Giant Pink Tent is Giant

So I’ve been slowly making my way up the back of Relax, AKA the Giant Pink Tent. And giant it is. I got to the point where I’m supposed to start the increases for the underarms (it has sort of dolman-type sleeves), and I figured it was a good time to give it a wet block and check the gauge.

Relax sweater

It’s pretty close to what I had expected, but still so big that it makes me pretty nervous. I’m making the size smaller than suggested for my bust size, but it will still have 10-11 inches of positive ease.

I had sort of hoped that it would be about 1/2″ less wide (1″ less overall), but I don’t suppose that will make much difference anyway, given how oversized it is. But maybe I’ll do a few less increases for the sleeve.

On the other hand, it has a lovely drape, so I have hope that it might turn out OK. Now I just need to decide if I want to make it any longer than the pattern calls for.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Giant Pink Tent is Giant

  1. Marilyn says:

    I accidently knit Acer too big and I’ve grown to love it anyway. A comfort sweater if you will. And that is the point of this pattern…I’m sure you’ll love it too!

  2. zeneedle says:

    I feel the same with with every stitch of my Hayward. I’m also concerned for the opposite reason on Acorn. The knitters constant lament…”will it fit!?” The color is going to look fabulous on you. You’re making great progress!

  3. Chris says:

    Go go go! 🙂

  4. Carrie#K says:

    It looks like a relaxing knit in any event.

  5. Cookie says:

    You can always use it for shade out in the garden this summer.

  6. Heather N says:

    It will be super cute on you when you finish. Looks like Eileen Fisher or something.

Leave a Reply

