Another Fabulous Meal

After making that delicious lasagne earlier in the week, I browsed the frugalfeeding website for more recipes. One of the many that caught my eye was a simple recipe for Red Pepper and Sunflower Seed Pesto.

As luck would have it, two days later I was at the grocery store and saw beautiful large red bell peppers on sale. Remembering this recipe, I bought one.

Red Pepper Sunflower Seed Pesto

Wow. We were so impressed by this sauce. What an amazing flavor! The seeds give it such a nice richness and depth.  We practically licked the bowls clean. The Pontiff declared it not only worthy of a restaurant special, but thought it would be delightful for guests.

Only four simple ingredients for the sauce: a sweet red pepper (roasted), some toasted sunflower seeds, olive oil, and salt. Vegan, gluten-free, dairy-free, and budget-friendly as a bonus.

It would also be great as a sauce for a lasagna, or it could be used over many gluten-free options like rice, quinoa, or cauliflower. I think it would also be a nice sauce for fish or seafood.

For those of you without a kitchen scale, I weighed 30 grams of sunflower seed kernels and then threw them in a measuring cup. It was a little under 1/4 cup, but with the extra used for garnish, I think 1/4 cup (or just slightly less) is a good estimate. The pepper I used was pretty large – I’d guess 5 to 6″ long.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another Fabulous Meal

  1. Marilyn says:

    Sounds yummy and I love sunflower seeds!

  2. Thank you for sharing this – I will definitely give it a try!

    >

  3. This sounds delicious. And as a cheese-phobic, I love the idea of a pesto with no cheese. I’m growing peppers this year so might be able to do a home-grown version. Thank you so much for posting, and your picture looks completely yummy.

  4. Kym says:

    Mmmm. Looks like another winner. Thanks for the tip, Cheryl.

  5. pacalaga says:

    woo, i do need to check out that website.

  6. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Linkity looks out, but does not see spring

Leave a Reply

