Violets and more Violets

I’ve been viciously yanking out handfuls of violets from my front planting bed. Not that I dislike violets, but they’re taking over and choking out some of my other plants. When they first started showing up, I thought they made lovely addition to the garden, so I let them multiply. Now I’m seeing the error of my ways. Did you know that violets not only spread by their root system, but also explosively shoot seeds for several feet around them? Most references say 3 to 4 feet, but some say they can even shoot up to 9 or 10 feet.

I was tempted to leave them until after the spring blooms died down, but by then the other perennial foliage will have grown enough that they’d be much harder to pull. So sadly, I’m disposing of them in the prime of their beauty.

But fear not, violet lovers. I have left the violets alone on the side yard, where they’re welcome to fill up all the space they want. And they do. In two colors.

Sweet violets

My daffodils are in full swing, and the very early species tulips have opened.

Daffodils

I think it’s time to go gather some flowers for vases. I think I even have a tiny vase to hold some of those violets.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Violets and more Violets

  1. zeneedle says:

    Beautiful! The violets and daffodils around our place are in full bloom, too! Tis a wonderful time of year.

  2. pacalaga says:

    Pretty! I like volunteer flowers.

  3. Chris says:

    *sighs wistfully*

  4. Pretty, pretty, pretty. I love the pictures of spring flowers that people are posting at the moment. Your violets are (were?!) lovely.

Leave a Reply

