From Tent to Tee

I have the front and back done on Relax, AKA the Giant Pink Tent.

"Relax" pattern

The Zephyr yarn has a lovely drape, so it doesn’t look quite so much like a tent when being worn. (And remember, I went down a size from what was recommended for my bustsize.)

I still have the sleeves to add, but without them, it makes a pretty cute tee. Maybe I’ll make another one and just leave it as a short-sleeved top.

"Relax" pattern

"Relax" pattern

The neckline just has a simple rolled edging. The bottom hem was supposed to have a ribbing. I knit it, but it was way too loose. I should have gone down a couple of needle sizes. Rather than reknit it, though, I decided to just have a rolled hem instead. The top was already long enough, and adding the ribbing would have made it a little longer than I would have liked. So starting from my provisional cast-on, I joined the hem to work in the round and worked one purl round followed by three knit rounds and then bound off.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to From Tent to Tee

  1. zeneedle says:

    The rolled hem looks great with the rolled neck.I also think the color looks great on you, despite your concerns. It will be a great summer top with or without sleeves!

  2. Chris says:

    It definitely doesn’t look like a tent now! 🙂

  3. Marilyn says:

    It looks super and you are right…it really doesn’t need sleeves…it looks good just the way it is. 🙂

  4. Katy says:

    I say leave the sleeves off – it looks great as is!

  5. Kym says:

    I love the “oversized” look! Elegant, chic, AND comfy all at once. Very nice!

  6. Anne says:

    I like it without the sleeves too – it’d work as a layering piece or just by itself during those changeable spring weather days.

Leave a Reply

