FO: Relax

The giant pink tent is complete. [Oh, and look – the lilacs are in full bloom already!]

Relax pattern

And no, it isn’t really all that giant. It just felt that way while I was knitting it.

But still, it’s big.

Relax pattern

I’m very happy with it, and it’s very comfortable to wear.

I did make one mistake, though. When I seamed the shoulders, I forgot that it was supposed to be an exposed seam (3-needle bindoff worked with the wrong sides of the fabric together). Instead, I seamed it with the right sides together for a traditional seam. I’ve been pondering whether it would be possible to change that without messing up the sleeves and neck. Hmmm.

I also made the sleeves longer, and then they grew more than I expected – so they’re a bit longer than I planned. I could easily cut them back and reknit the ribbing, but I’ll probably just leave it alone.

Pattern: Relax, by Ririko, project notes here.
Yarn: JaggerSpun Zephyr Wool Silk 2/18 in “Cassis”, held double. Just under half a cone – about 2400 yards.
Needles: US 6/4mm as the main needle, US 5/3.75mm for the sleeves and neck, US 4/3.5mm for the ribbing
Size: XS

Modifications:  I knit size XS to make it less oversized. Made the neckline slightly less wide by working 3 fewer bindoff stitches on each neck edge (just skipped the last 3 bindoff sts). Made the sleeves a little longer. Made a rolled hem at the bottom edge instead of the ribbing.

I like this pattern a lot, and can see making other versions – one without the attached sleeves to make a short-sleeved one, and perhaps one in a yarn with a higher wool content for colder weather.

I’m glad I changed the neckline – the neck opening is still wide, but not so wide that straps show. It only ended up about half an inch narrower than the pattern specified. If I made it again, I’d probably narrow it even more.

I like how the Zephyr yarn worked out. It’s very lightweight and has lots of drape, which is important for this pattern.

Relax pattern

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FO: Relax

  1. zeneedle says:

    Well done!! It looks easy to wear, classy and sophisticated for a night out and perfect for this time of year! Beautiful!! (Both of you).

  2. Anne says:

    SO pretty! And spring-y. (I am jealous of your lilacs. We are off to a slow start here for whatever reason with the flowers. Maybe they’ve given up for fear of never having water again.)

  3. Marilyn says:

    Perfect! You did the right thing with the neckline. Love the color.
    Beautiful lilacs…bet they smell wonderful too. 🙂

  4. Stacey says:

    You look radiant! The sweater is lovely. You have the patience of a saint

  5. pacalaga says:

    Super flattering, especially since you’d been describing it as a tent!

  6. Chris says:

    It is extremely flattering! 🙂

  7. Cookie says:

    Look how good you are! I love it! I knew you could do it! What a shame it’s not big enough to sit under.

Leave a Reply

