What’s in Bloom

I was surprised a few days ago to see that the lilacs are in full bloom already. That’s three or four weeks earlier than last year.

Garden flowers, April 2014

The daffodils are gone now, along with most of the very early tulips, but the early- to mid-season tulips are in full swing. These are the last of the early red ones:

Garden flowers, April 2014

The current tulips are mostly pink and purple.

Garden flowers, April 2014

Garden flowers, April 2014

Last year I planted some phlox, and I’m glad to see that it’s doing nicely this spring:

Garden flowers, April 2014

The early iris have lots of dark violet buds just about to open, along with some of the mid-season tulips.

I’m glad I have enough varieties of tulips for a fairly long display. If only they would bloom all summer!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s in Bloom

  1. Marilyn says:

    Beautiful! It’s fun to see that it is spring in some parts of the country! πŸ™‚

  2. Stacey says:

    Lovely blooms! I thin it is summer here already.

  3. zeneedle says:

    Our lilacs are behind yours, but our tulips are looking great! Your yard must be a riot of color!

  4. Kym says:

    So lovely! We’re still a long way from such colorful blooms this year, so I thank you for sharing the views from your lovely garden. So wonderful. (I just love those pink and white tulips you have! Gorgeous.)

  5. Cookie says:

    Love! Love it all! I’m starting to think it’s going to be a weird summer. πŸ˜•

  6. redsilvia says:

    Oh you’re making me jealous! That lilac is amazing and the tulips – love! I’m sure your kitty is enjoying the sun and flowers πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

