What’s Wrong With This Picture

Bad Cable

Can you spot the mis-crossed cable? Just below and to the left of the center of the photo. There’s a left cross where it should be a right cross.

I really need to learn to look at my knitting more often, especially with such a heavily cabled piece. This is the SECOND miscrossed cable I found. The other one was even farther down the piece and has already been fixed. I took care of that this morning while I was out in the garden watching the birds, where I saw my first hummingbird of the year! It came by a couple of times to check out the feeders and flowers.

It’s been a great bird year so far. Besides the return of the jays, we had a special treat this year – a Lazuli Bunting! The Pontiff got a photo, but from quite a distance and with his phone, so it’s a pretty grainy photo:

Lazuli Bunting

Normally these birds like more rurual, shrubby areas, so it was exciting to see one in the heart of the city.

I was able to get a somewhat better photo of a Lesser Goldfinch  (what a sad name for such a sweet little bird!) – we have lots of these cuties at the feeders:

Lesser Goldfinch

Watching and listening to the birds made fixing the first cable mistake a little easier to deal with. After taking care of a few chores and errands, I’ll go back outside and tackle the second cable.

But the good news on the sweater is that this is the last repeat before I split the body for the armscyes. Since the sleeves are already done, that means I just have the front and back of the upper chest to finish!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s Wrong With This Picture

  1. Cookie says:

    Yeah, I see it. I’m just glad you saw it before you split for the arms. Still sucks though.

    Even the birds get tired of life in the burbs. ;^)

  2. pacalaga says:

    Pretty little birds! Ugh, fixing a miscrossed cable is one of my least favorite things to do. At least you can sit and relax in the lovely outdoors with the birds while you do it.

  3. Marilyn says:

    I see it too. So never really having knit cables successfully, how do you fix that? Drop the stitches involved and knit them back up? The sweater is going to be gorgeous!
    It’s fun to get unusual-for-your-area birds. Doesn’t happen very often.

  4. zeneedle says:

    With all the cables in that sweater one or two are bound to get miss-crossed.
    This morning while out for my walk I heard a chorus of bird-voices. It was a lovely symphony of sound. This afternoon while outside for lunch I heard a hummer whiz by. It’s a great time of year!

Leave a Reply

