Holbrook pics

I tried to get photos of the completed Holbrook shawl yesterday, but they didn’t turn out very well. Today was a much better photography day.

On my monitor, the shawl looks slightly more orange than it is in real life.

Holbrook Shawl

You can see that this is a pretty good-sized shawl. I wanted one that was a little larger than most of the ones I have, so I’m very happy with how it came out.

Holbrook Shawl

The knit fabric changes dramatically after a wet blocking. Of course, that’s true of any lace, but this yarn in particular seemed to be very dense and too-tightly-knit while it was on the needles. But after the blocking, it has a beautiful drape.

And yes, it was definitely worth the time to block out all of those eyelets along the edging.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Holbrook pics

  1. pacalaga says:

    Oh My Bob it’s fantastic!

  2. Stacey says:

    Beautiful! I do love how the eyelets make the edging pop. Don’t tell anyone, but I love to block.

  3. zeneedle says:

    Love the size, shape and color. You’ll love wearing it as it looks fabulous on you!

  4. Carole says:

    It is stunning!

  5. Susan says:

    Beautiful!

  6. That is absolutely stunning! I’m in awe.

  7. Marilyn says:

    So very pretty!
    I’m with Stacey…I like to block too. It gives such satisfying results.
    There needs to be a flexible blocking wire invented to do eyelets on a curve…

  8. jill says:

    Beautiful, wonderfully sized wrap!

  9. Sonja says:

    I’ll just ditto zeneddle. Perfect.

  10. Cookie says:

    Woo! It’s wonderful, Cheryl! I’m so glad you blocked it out the right way. Totally worth it.

  11. Kym says:

    So beautiful, Cheryl! I love the shape, the size, the color. Just perfect in every way!

Leave a Reply

