Big Wheel Keeps on Turning

My main travel project for the road trip was my Big Heart shawl, from the EZ 100th Anniversary Pi Shawl pattern. I’m up to 576 stitches per round now – the last section before the border.

Big Heart Shawl

It’s a lotta stitches. One round takes me 20-30 minutes, depending on whether it’s a plain knit row or a lace row. Since that’s normally all I allow myself to knit at one time (followed by a break of at least the same amount of time), it’s going to be moving along pretty slowly now.

It’s an easy lace pattern, but I still find myself making mistakes if I get distracted – so it’s not the best project for knitting in public. The Rocky Mountain Knitters’ Retreat is coming up in a few weeks, so I’ll need something besides this to work on. I figured it would be a good time to start this project. The pattern calls for knitting it in the round from the bottom up, but I’ll have to think about that and decide whether I want to do it that way or top down. Bottom up would certainly make for easier knitting at the retreat, since I’d only be working on the plain sections and not the colorwork, but top-down would give me better control over the length of the body and sleeves. Either way, though, I’m not going to do the turtleneck – I think I’ll be happier with a crew neck.

At any rate, I need to get swatching so I’ll be ready to get started at the retreat.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Big Wheel Keeps on Turning

  1. Gretchen says:

    What an ambitious project! Beautiful. Love the Nordic Jumper!

  2. Marilyn says:

    The shawl is going to be beautiful and huge! Love the color.
    The sweater is so pretty…I just did a stranded yoke sweater, knit bottom up, and the sleeves and the body got too long. You are right about top down and being able to control those things.

  3. Chris says:

    That is a LOT of stitches. o.O

  4. zeneedle says:

    Your shawl is going to be so beautiful! Keep on knitting!
    I haven’t given a lot of thought to my retreat project. Guess I have a week or two to do so.

Leave a Reply

