Frankensweater

This is how my Nordic Urban sweater looked over the weekend – all patched together.

NordicUrban-03

After my failure with the first yoke due to gauge issues, I decided to knit the sweater as indicated in the pattern – body and sleeves first (bottom up), then the yoke.

I started with the sweater body, but my gauge was way off from my swatches (too loose). I went down a needle size and tried again, but it was still way too loose. At that point, I decided to give up and start with the sleeves, knitting them flat. I figured I’d get a more consistent gauge that way, and could use that gauge to decide what to do with the body of the sweater.

After knitting the second sleeve, I could see that the gauge was a bit different even between the two sleeves, and one was a little larger than the other. What was up with that? I’ve never had so much trouble getting a consistent gauge. I can only assume that it’s something about the yarn. I don’t think I’ve ever used a wool/nylon superwash yarn for a sweater before. Blocking got them reasonably close to each other, though. And the gauge was even pretty close to the pattern (slight difference in row gauge, which is not unusual).

I wasn’t really looking forward to knitting the body of the sweater flat, though, and I wasn’t sure about the length. So instead, I decided to go back to the yoke – starting with a provisional cast-on and knitting it bottom-up. Since I knew my row gauge was going to be off a little, I left off the first few rows of the stranded pattern, figuring I could duplicate-stitch that part later if I really wanted to. This time the yoke worked out pretty well, using the needle size specified in the pattern. I wasn’t sure what to do about the neck, though, since I didn’t want to do a turtleneck. I decided to do the short rows and then bind off with a 3-stitch i-cord bindoff. It’s a little puffy in the back above the stranded section – if it doesn’t block out, I may take it out and decrease the stitches before doing the short rows – or changing it to rib to help take in the slack.

So now I had a yoke and two sleeves, and the best way to join the sleeves would be to graft them. Yuck. But it’s black yarn, and I didn’t think the join would really be noticeable. But before doing that, I wanted to make sure the sleeve length and fit was OK – so I just basted them in place. This also made the yoke settle into place properly so that as I knit the body of the sweater, I could get a better idea of the fit of the entire sweater. I picked up the stitches for the body and started knitting downward. Fortunately, everything seemed to look pretty good, so after about 5 inches of the body, I decided to graft the sleeves in place.

Now I’m on the home stretch – just knitting around and around on the body. The end is finally in sight!

NordicUrban-04

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Frankensweater

  1. Carole says:

    That yoke is gorgeous!

  2. Chris says:

    You are persistent – I would’ve given up about 10 times already. The yoke is lovely! 🙂

  3. Kym says:

    Oh, Cheryl! That’s just wonderful! I’ve been wondering how your sweater was going . . . having been present while you were (so very calmly!) dealing with those pesky gauge issues!

  4. Lynn in Tucson says:

    I, too, admire your persistence. That would be in a basket under my bed by now!

  5. It looks good so far! I hope it works out for you!!

  6. Heather N says:

    Pretty! That is going to be super warm, too.

  7. zeneedle says:

    If anyone could figure out how to make that sweater behave it would be you. It’s going to be a very handsome, and warm, sweater!

  8. Marilyn says:

    So pretty! You have the patience of a saint…I would have given up on it.
    I did swatches on the sweater that I’m working on. The swatches said I needed to use needles 2 sizes bigger than the pattern said. But I ignored the swatches and went with the needle size the pattern said and it is the best fitting sweater I’ve ever done. Swatches lie. Mine at least…

Leave a Reply

