And onward

I am gradually pulling out of the sickhouse… at least in the past few days, I’ve felt a little better each day instead of worse. I hope that means there’s an end in sight, and I’ll finally be able to get out into the real world. Of course, with the crappy air quality we’ve had lately, it’s probably just as well that I’ve been house bound.

Anyway, since still not feeling quite up to snuff, but needing a new project, I decided to go with quick and easy, and nothing that requires much thought.

I’ve started another Extra, this time using very yummy cashmere which made it’s way to me via a couple of lovely people. Although the original periwinkle color is actually very flattering to my skin tone, it’s not a color I would normally wear. I considered making something for my mom, since she’d love the color and it would be smashing on her – but she rarely goes outside, so anything in bulky cashmere would most likely go unused. And the yarn is much too nice not to be worn.

So instead, I sent it to Kim at The Woolen Rabbit to overdye it for me, and she did a spectacular job (of course). We discussed a few options, and ended up going with a delicious rich, dark purple. Here are the before-and-after shots:

Jade Sapphire

It’s so amazingly soft and squishy worked up in the simple garter stitch. I’m sure I’m going to love being wrapped up in it.

Extra

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And onward

  1. Carrie#K says:

    The overdye is pretty spectacular! But I don’t think I can claim any credit for the pattern or the yarn.

  2. Carole says:

    Kim did a spectacular job and you will, too!

  3. Marilyn says:

    Glad you are feeling better. It’s taken a long time!
    Sometimes garter stitch is just the answer for easy knitting. Love the pattern. The shawl will be wonderful!

  4. zeneedle says:

    It’s just not fair you’ve been sick for so long! Hopefully you’ll be immune for the next few years. Kim did a fabulous job, as we knew she would. That’s going to be one cozy and wonderful scarf.

  5. Chris says:

    Hopefully your health improvement has continued…
    Love the final color! The squooshiness is obvious from the photo.

Leave a Reply

