For the Birds

Since the Scrub Jay population was apparently devastated by avian flu a few years ago, I went a couple of years without seeing any in my yard. But I had a little family that finally came back. This year, there was no sign of them – until today. I was filling the bird feeders when I heard one’s hoarse croak. I looked up, and there was one on the phone line. I put out some peanuts, grabbed my camera, and it wasn’t long before they were coming in for brunch. There are two for sure, and I think three.

This one has some sort of string-like plant material stuck on its chest:

Scrub Jay

And this one has feathers that sort of stick out on its back, which you can’t see in this photo:

Scrub Jay

The hummingbirds have been very active this year, too. Here’s one coming in for a landing:

Hummingbird

Touchdown!

Hummingbird

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to For the Birds

  1. zeneedle says:

    Poor things look the worse for wear. Maybe the magpies are beating up on them. Maybe your peanuts will help them build strength.
    Both my little families seem to be doing well. The young have darker heads and a funny squeak rather than a croak.

  2. Chris says:

    Great photos – I esp love the hummingbird photos, as those are SO hard to get.

  3. redsilvia says:

    I’m amazed you can get such great photos! Every time I think about taking one of my hummingbirds, those suckers zip off.

  4. Kym says:

    Great photos, Cheryl! Really wonderful! Hope those little scrub jays hang in there!!!

Leave a Reply

