Stitch Fix #1

After hearing several people rave about their experience with Stitch Fix, I decided to give it a try. I got my first delivery yesterday, and I was very happy with it. In fact, I kept everything! I can see why everyone is so excited about it!

If you’ve been living under a rock and haven’t heard of Stitch Fix, it’s a company you sign up with that has stylists pick out clothes and accessories for you, based on a survey you fill out about your size, shape, likes, dislikes, and price range. You can also set up a Pinterest board to give the stylist a better idea of the things you like or want. They send you a box of 5 items (you can indicate items you don’t want them to send, like bags, jewelry, dresses, etc.) for a styling fee of $20. You have 3 days to look over everything. If you keep any of the items, the fee is deducted from the cost. A return mailing bag is included for anything you want to send back, so there’s no postage charges.

If you keep all 5 items, you get a 25% discount on the total price. That actually encourages you to keep a single item that you might be a little wishy-washy on, since the discount might be as much as or more than the price of the thing you’re sending back. For example, without the discount I might not have kept the necklace – but since my total cost with the discount made the total less to keep everything than to send the necklace back, I might as well keep it. Yes, it’s very enabling.

Also, if anyone uses your referral link and orders a shipment, you get a $25 credit. (So if you decide to try it and would like to use my referral link, please click through to them using my link when you sign up.)

So… on to the clothes! (Sorry about my hair – I took these photos after I got out of the shower, and my hair was still damp.)

First let me start off with what has become my outfit by default: A plain but shaped t-shirt, paired with jeans or shorts:

Boring typical outfit

I have a ton of these shirts (St. John’s Bay from J.C. Penney) in short, 3/4 and long sleeves, v-neck and crew neck, and multiple colors. I like the fit (shaped and body-skimming but not tight or clingy), and the fabric is sturdy so they wash and dry well and last for ages. The sleeves on the short-sleeved shirts are a nice length for me and aren’t big and baggy like souvenir t-shirts. They also pair well with skirts, so they’re great for travel. Plus they’re cheap! Many days of the week I don’t leave the house, or I’m cooking/cleaning/gardening, and these shirts are easy to just throw on without thinking about it.

But I’ve gotten into a boring rut and really needed some clothes that are a little more stylish. I hate clothes shopping, and have a terrible time finding things that I like and that fit. Enter Stitch Fix!

My first box was styled by Cassandra.

First off is the Marcelle Tie Neck Top by Daniel Rainn, along with Deidra Bootcut Jeans by Liverpool.

Marcelle top and Deidra Jeans

I loved both of these. The jeans are stretchy pull-on pants, which solve the problem of my hips being a lot bigger than my waist. And the 32″ inseam is perfect for me when wearing flats, which I usually do. Cassandra said if I prefer to wear heels or boots, she can send a longer length next time. I love the fun paisley print of the top, and the blue-and-orange colors.

Next is the Abrianna Longsleeve Knit Cardigan by 41Hawthorn:

Abrianna Cardigan

The color in the photo shows a little too red – the actual color a little more orange – more like paprika. I liked this a lot, too. The warm red is a good color for me, and I’m happy with the length. I paired it with a casual dress for the photo. The color actually goes well with the Marcelle top, but I’m not sure what I think about that combo. Certainly it would be good if I wear the top and just want to take a cardi along with me in case I get chilled.

The last pieces were the Cristen Shirt Dress by 41Hawthorn and a Lane Layering Necklace by Bancroft:

Cristen Shirt Dress and Lane Necklace

I don’t wear a lot of dresses, and normally don’t wear shirt dresses since I’m not big on dresses that are belted or have a waist band. (Normally I like sheath dresses that are just shaped at the waist, or wrap dresses which are flattering on pretty much everyone.) But as it turns out, I have a need for a dress that is not too casual and not too dressy, and lightweight for summer heat. I’ve been looking for one recently without success. Although I don’t LOVE this dress, it works and fits my criteria, so it definitely solved my problem. It would be a nice outfit for office wear, if I still worked. It was funny that I got this in the shipment – I was going to ask for a dress for this purpose, but figured I probably wouldn’t get something that worked.

You can’t really see the necklace in the photo, but it works with the dress or with the Marcelle top, and is pretty basic enough to wear with a lot of different things. Since it has a clasp, it can be doubled or even used as a belt:

Lane Layering Necklace

They also send styling cards for each item, giving you some outfit suggestions.

I have such a hard time buying clothes that I figured I’d be lucky if there was anything in the shipment I decided to keep, so it was amazing when I ended up keeping the entire shipment!

I was definitely pleased, and have already scheduled another shipment for next month. One of the things I really liked about the system is that although you can schedule automatic shipments if you want, you don’t have to – you can just go to the website and request a shipment whenever you want. And for each shipment, you can tell the stylist if you’re looking for anything in particular. From looking at things other people have gotten, I see that they also let you know when new things they send might work well with items you’ve already purchased from them.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stitch Fix #1

  1. zeneedle says:

    Everything looks great on you. The stylist really got your look right, even the dress is good for your lifestyle. It would be perfect for your theater nights, too. Love the cardigan!

  2. Chris says:

    If I have to go job hunting at some point, this would be good for me to do. Thanks for the info! And yeah, the stylist did a great job finding things that look good on you!

  3. Stacey says:

    Everything looks great on you! I’ve been hesitant to try because I’m a big girl.

    • Cheryl says:

      Maybe that’s a good reason to try it – they have access to a lot more clothing than you’ll get in a few stores!

      They have a Plus Size line now, and if you do an Internet search for “Stitch Fix Plus Size”, or search for it on Pinterest , you can see what some of the clothing and reactions are. I would guess that it’s probably harder to get a good fit, but if you end up liking some of the things and keep trying them, they’ll get better with learning what sizes and styles fit you best.

      For anyone, I’d definitely recommend setting up a Pinterest board that they can view. You can pin photos of clothing styles you like, and even upload photos of yourself. If you put comments about what you like or dislike about the styles on the pins, that’s helpful too.

      I figured at the worst, if I didn’t like anything, I’d only be out $20. I thought that was worth giving it a try, even just for the experience.

    • Cheryl says:

      Also, there are some videos on Youtube. I didn’t look at all of them, but this was a good one.

  4. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Linkity didn’t think it was possible to be more appalled, and yet…

  5. Kym says:

    Just before I read your post, I signed up to give StitchFix a try. I’m expecting my first “fix” later this week, and after seeing what you got in YOUR “fix” I’m really looking forward to seeing what I get!

  6. Ann says:

    Out of curiosity, how much do you end up spending if you keep everything? I hate to shop, but my budget is so tight I can’t spend hundreds on clothes all at once.

    • Cheryl says:

      It depends on the price ranges you choose when you sign up. I signed up for the $50-100 range per item for pretty much everything, since I was hoping for things that were a little nicer than what I would normally buy around town. The items I got ranged from $28-78 as their full price. With the 25% discount, I got all of the items for about $200. More than I normally spend at once on clothes, but I think it was a good value for what I got. There’s also a price category that’s called something like “the cheaper the better”. I don’t know what that would end up being, but certainly less than the cost of what I got.

Leave a Reply

